Boys State Individual Tennis Tournament Recap

News Article


News Releases

Boys State Individual Tennis Tournament Recap

Thursday, May 30, 2019

Boys State Individual Tennis Tournament Recap

MADISON, Wis. – A pair of singles players and doubles teams were crowned champions at the 2019 Boys State Individual Tennis Tournament at Nielsen Tennis Stadium Saturday.

In the Division 1 singles bracket, senior Johnny Zakowski of Green Bay Southwest became the program’s first singles champion in the 97-year history of the tournament. The fourth-seed posted a 7-5, 6-3 victory over second-seeded Nathan Balthazor of De Pere in the championship match. Zakowski, four-year State qualifier, improved his record to 26-4 this season after finishing fifth in the tournament a year ago.

In Division 1 doubles play, the top-seeded tandem of junior Riley Aranda and senior Jaden Aranda of Nicolet won the championship with a 6-2, 5-7, 6-2 win over the second-seeded duo of seniors John Stockhausen and Teddy Brodzinski from Marquette in the title match. The Arandas improved their record to 25-3 this season. Riley finished runner-up in doubles play with Eli Winter at the State Tournament last season, and Jaden finished fourth last year in singles play. It’s the first doubles championship for Nicolet since Josh Lurie and Nolan Greenberg won the title in 2005.

Junior Pablo Dale of Brookfield Academy successfully defended the Division 2 singles title he won last season. The top-seeded player in the bracket downed sophomore Alex Sviatoslavsky of Edgewood, the #2 seed, 6-1, 6-0 to remain undefeated this season at 21-0.

Juniors Kelby Mack and Noah Wankerl captured the Division 2 doubles championship to become the first tandem in Sauk Prairie school history to win a State doubles title. They recorded a 6-1, 6-2 triumph over the fourth-seeded team of senior Josh Janssen and junior Christian Remington of Notre Dame in the championship match to improve to 17-1 this season.

The 25th State Boys Team Tennis Tournament is scheduled for Friday and Saturday, June 7-8 at the Nielsen Tennis Stadium in Madison.

Division 1 
Division 1 Singles Bracket
Division 1 Doubles Bracket

Division 2 
Division 2 Singles Bracket
Division 2 Doubles Bracket


Theme picker