Boys Hockey - News | Boys Hockey | Sports | Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association



State Boys & Girls Hockey Tournaments Preview

The 46th Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association Boys Hockey State Tournament and the 15th Girls Hockey State Tournament will take place Thursday-Saturday, March 3-5, at Veterans Memorial Coliseum at the Alliant Energy Center in Madison, Wis. Ticket prices for the tourney are $8 per session. Individuals 13-years old and under will be admitted for $5 each session.

All-Star Coaching Staff Aligned for Fourth Annual All-Stater Hockey Clinic

Six well-known Wisconsin hockey players and coaches have agreed to be clinicians for the Fourth Annual All-Stater Hockey Clinic held each year in conjunction with the WIAA State Hockey Championships at the Coliseum in Madison.

This year’s clinic will feature Jessie Vetter, Alex Rigsby and Scott McConnel as they join Steve Hanrahan, Vic Levine and Jeff Sauer instructing at the event.

Vetter was a goalkeeper for the 2010 and 2014 United States Olympic Teams.  Winning a silver medal in each of these Olympics.  At the 2009 Women’s World Ice Hockey Championships, she allowed just a single goal.  In addition, Vetter was the starting goaltender when the US won the 2008 Women’s World Ice Hockey Championships.  In her four-year NCAA career, she lead the 2008-09 Wisconsin Badgers women’s hockey team to the NCAA title.  She was drafted 20th overall by the Boston Blades in the 2011 CWHL Draft.

Alex Rigsby became the first woman ever to be drafted in the USHL when she was selected in the 16th round, 199th overall by the Chicago Steel.  She won gold medals in the 2009 IIHF Under 18 Women’s World Championship and the 2013 &2015 IIHF World Women’s Championships.  She also lead the 2010-11 Wisconsin Badgers women’s hockey team to the NCAA title.

Scott McConnell played collegiately for the University of Denver from 2002-04.  Prior to this he played for the Fargo-Moorhead Ice Sharks and the Cedar Rapids Roughriders of the USHL.  Since 2005, Scott has coached in the USHL, becoming the Head Coach and General Manager of the Chicago Steel in 2010-2015.

Steve Hanrahan served 27 years as the Head Coach for Sun Prairie High School hockey team.  During his tenure the Cardinals had only four losing seasons and acquired a record of 362-231-27.   In 1997 he lead Sun Prairie to their only WIAA State Hockey Championship.

Vic Levine guided the Madison Memorial High School boys hockey team for 29 years, compiling a 512-144-20 record and winning six WIAA State Championships. He is the only Wisconsin high school hockey coach, and one of only six high school coaches in the nation, to have more than 500 career wins. He took Memorial to state in 22 of his 29 years and also five teams finished as runners-up. He is the only Wisconsin coach to be awarded the John Mariucci Award by the American College Hockey Coaches Association.

Jeff Sauer was the head hockey coach at the UW-Madison from 1982 to 2002 and Colorado College from 1971 to 1982.  While at Wisconsin, he led the Badgers to two NCAA men’s hockey championships.  He is currently the special assistant to the commissioner of the WCHA.

The clinic for players in grades 4-8 will be held on Saturday, March 5, beginning at 9:00 a.m. at the Coliseum on the Alliant Energy Center’s campus.  On-line registration for the event can be found by clicking on:

For additional information regarding this clinic, click on the link below:

The cost for the clinic, admission to the 2016 WIAA State Hockey Championships, a snack ticket (Hot Dog, Popcorn, and Soda), along with Classroom Instruction, Strength Training, and Ice Time is only $25.00/participant.

NFHS Releases 2015-16 Hockey Rule Changes

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. — In an effort to minimize risk of injury in high school ice hockey, the penalty structure has been revised to provide options for more stringent penalties when situations warrant.

The reformatting of penalty changes and revisions to four other rules were recommended by the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) Ice Hockey Rules Committee at its April 27-28 meeting in Indianapolis. All 2015-16 ice hockey rules changes were subsequently approved by the NFHS Board of Directors.


Theme picker