Softball History

The WIAA began sponsoring a softball tournament program in 1976.
The first State Tournament was held in Madison, and Madison West won the championship by defeating Elmwood, 27-8, in the title contest.
Waukesha became the site of the State Tournament in 1977, and the tournament was held in that location the next 25 years. The championship moved back to Madison and has been held at UW's Goodman Diamond since 2002.

There was only one class of competition in the first three years of the tournament, but there was an A and B division in both 1979 and 1980, and the C division was added in 1981. Terminology was changed in 1991 from classes to divisions (1-2-3). In 2002, the tournament series expanded to four divisions. In 2017, the tournament expanded to five divisions with Division 1 represented by eight teams and Divisions 2, 3, 4 and 5 by four qualifying teams.

Stevens Point leads all programs in State titles won with nine; Kimberly has seven championships; and Marion has won six. Both Denmark and Oakfield have won five championships. Four of Stevens Point's eight titles came consecutively from 2001-04 to have the distinction of being the only school to accomplish that feat. Ashwaubenon has won four titles, and Laconia, Loyal, Pacelli and Poynette have won three titles. Schools that have won three consecutive championships in addition to Stevens Point are Laconia (2015-17), Ashwaubenon (1992-94), Loyal (1978-80) and Marion (1990-92).

Stevens Point leads all member schools in the number of trips to the State Tournament with 18. Then comes Ashwaubenon with 16, and Kimberly with 14. Oakfield is next with 13 appearances, followed by Homestead and Verona with 12. Chippewa Falls has 11 State experiences with Cedarburg, Elmwood, Loyal, Poynette, Watertown and Wilmot Union each having made nine appearances.