WIAA Salutes 32 State Scholar-Athlete Award Recipients

News Article


News Releases

WIAA Salutes 32 State Scholar-Athlete Award Recipients

Tuesday, April 23, 2024

WIAA Salutes 32 State Scholar-Athlete Award Recipients

STEVENS POINT, Wis. – The Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association has selected the 16 senior boys and 16 senior girls to receive the prestigious statewide 2024 Scholar-Athlete Award, presented by the We Energies Foundation and the Wisconsin Public Service Foundation.

To determine the top 32 award recipients, four boys and four girls were selected based on both athletic and academic achievement from each of the four WIAA divisions. This year, 836 seniors were nominated for the award by 422 high schools throughout the state. 

Scholar-Athlete Profiles:  Boys | Girls

“Each of these remarkable student-athletes has excelled in academics and athletics,” WIAA Assistant Director Tom Shafranski said. “Seventeen of this year’s 32 WIAA Scholar-Athlete finalists have a grade-point average of 4.0 to date.

“When you combine all 32 scholar-athlete GPAs; the average is 3.9,” he added. “This year’s honorees have already earned a total of 323 varsity letters during their first 3 1/2 years of high school. That’s an average of 10 letters per athlete, and we have not yet completed our spring sports season.”

The award recipients will be recognized at the 2024 WIAA Scholar-Athlete Ceremony Sunday, May 5 at SentryWorld in Stevens Point. Joe Delagrave, a two-time Paralypmic medalist and current head coach of the U.S. Wheelchair Rugby Team, will be the keynote speaker. A live stream of the awards program will be available on the websites of the State Television Network stations, including  WXOW-TVWQOW-TVWAOW-TVWKOW-TV, WVTV and WCWF at 1 p.m. A delayed telecast of the ceremony will be aired Sunday, May 12 at 1 p.m. 

For more information on the Scholar-Athlete Award and biographies of the recipients, access the Scholar-Athlete homepage on the WIAA website.

2024 WIAA Scholar-Athlete Award Recipients 
(List includes scholar-athlete’s name, hometown and the high school they attend)

Cayden Brandenburg, Janesville, Janesville Parker High School
Aloysius Franzen, Rosholt, Stevens Point Area Senior High
Connor O’Donnell, Racine, South Milwaukee High School
Ben Wozniak, Milwaukee, Milwaukee King High School

Braelee Jodarski, Oshkosh, Oshkosh West High School
Alexa Kinas, Kaukauna, Kaukauna High School
Sara Mlodik, Ringle, D.C. Everest High School
Violet Schulteis, Slinger, Slinger High School

Mason Lane, Lodi, Lodi High School
Brock Massey, Mauston, Mauston High School
Sean Nicholas, Pewaukee, Catholic Memorial High School
Owen Plate, Plymouth, Plymouth High School

Ava Dean, McFarland, McFarland High School
Lilie Fouts, Menasha, Xavier High School
Nora Gremban, Eagle River, Northland Pines High School
Eliana Sheplee, Birchwood, Rice Lake High School

David Malin, Genoa, Aquinas High School
Eli Prokop, Dresser, St. Croix Falls High School
Teegan Streit, Edgar, Edgar High School
Tegan Werner, Crivitz, Crivitz High School

Lucy Belisle, St. Croix Falls, St. Croix Falls High School
Aubrey Dorn, Chippewa Falls, McDonell Central Catholic High School
Kacy Eggebrecht, Phillips, Phillips High School
Hailee Thompson, Bonduel, Bonduel High School

Jared Kaufman, Three Lake, Three Lakes High School
Tanner Lamb, Almond, Almond-Bancroft High School
Ben Matczak, Oconto Falls, Gillett High School
Kevin Ross, Tony, Flambeau High School

Sophia Bablitch, Rosholt, Rosholt High School
Kendall Duellman, Wisconsin Rapids, Assumption High School
Alana Durtschi, Albany, Albany High School
Marah Brett Gruen, Elroy, Royall High School

The WIAA, as defined by its Constitution, is a voluntary, unincorporated, and nonprofit organization. The membership oversees interscholastic athletic programs for 515 senior high schools and 43 junior high/middle level schools in its membership.

# WIAA # 


Theme picker