Stoughton, Freedom, Fennimore Team Wrestling Champs

News Article


News Releases

Stoughton, Freedom, Fennimore Team Wrestling Champs

Wednesday, March 6, 2019

Stoughton, Freedom, Fennimore Team Wrestling Champs

MADISON, Wis. – Champions in three divisions were crowned at the 28th Annual State Team Wrestling Tournament at the UW Field House Saturday afternoon.

Stoughton (21-0) won its second straight crown in Division 1 and the its ninth team championship overall with a 42-24 victory over Mukwonago. 

The Vikings won nine of the 14 matches, including pins by Dante Steinmetz at 120, Hunter Lewis at 138, Cade Spilde at 160 and Brooks Empey at 195. Stoughton also posted major decisions by Nicolar Rivera at 113, Luke Mechler at 145 and Gavin Model at 152. 

Mukwonago recorded pins in three of the five matches the Indians won, including Luke Eliszewski at 126, Josiah Lynden at 132 and Tyler Pitcel at 285.

It was Mukwonago’s (26-1) ninth State appearance and the Indians’ time in the championship match. Stoughton wins the title in its 13th State experience.

Freedom (19-3) is the champion in Division 2 following a 35-16 win over Ellsworth in title tilt.

The Irish controlled the match by winning 10 of the 14 weight classes, including the final five bouts. Seth Brownson posted the only fall of the match in winning at 220. Zach Lahay and Grant Vosters added major decisions at 106 and 182.

All four of the Panthers’ wins were by major decision, including Charlie Stuhl at 132, Jared Lansing at 145, Sawyer Hamilton at 152 and Cedric Kosnopfal at 170.

Ellsworth (19-5) finishes runner-up for the second year in a row. The Panthers end the season at the State tournament for the 18th time and for the 14th straight season. The Irish have now won three championships in their five State appearances.

Fennimore (11-0) ended Stratford’s two-year reign in Division 3 with a 31-24 victory in the championship match. Brody Lee and Alex Birchman recorded pins for the Golden Eagles at 106 and 126, respectively. Will Ahnen chipped in with a major decision at 182. Fennimore won eight bouts in the match and was particularly successful in the heavier weights, winning at 182, 195 and 220.

The Tigers only pin of the match was earned by Trevor Dennee at 170 with Max Schwabe posting a technical fall at 132 to lead the Stratford scoring. Devin Dennee contributed with a major decision at 170.

Stratford (25-2) finishes runner-up in its eight State appearance, and the Golden Eagles win their second championship after placing runner-up to Stratford the past two seasons and capturing their first championship in 2016.

Division 1 Championship - Stoughton 42, Mukwonago 24 - Summary

Division 2 Championship - Freedom 35, Ellsworth 16 - Summary

Division 3 Championship - Fennimore 31, Stratford 24 - Summary


Theme picker