State Track & Field Meet Concludes

News Article


News Releases

Saturday, June 4, 2016

State Track & Field Meet Concludes

The final day of the 2016 State Track and Field Meet endured a 1:45 weather delay to complete the two-day event at Veterans Memorial Stadium in La Crosse Saturday.

Brookfield East won the Division 1 boys’ State championship with 49 points. Kettle Moraine and Middleton tied for second with 41 points. Freedom captured the Division 2 crown with 45 points, two ahead of runner-up Wisconsin Lutheran with 43 points. Coleman, Marathon and Wild Rose shared the Division 3 championship with 39 points.

Milwaukee King finished first in the girls Division 1 standings with 44 points. Brookfield East finished runner-up with 30.5 points. Jefferson won the title in Division 2 with 44 points, and Wisconsin Lutheran was second with 42. Cuba City earned the Division 3 gold trophy with a score of 34, one point ahead of runner-up Weyauwega-Fremont with 33 points.

Marquette was team champion in the boys’ wheelchair with 35 points, and Wisconsin Heights/Barneveld was second 29 points. Catholic Central was the champion in the girls’ wheelchair team competition with 40 points. Burlington was second with 32 points.

Four records were set in Division 1. Aubrey Roberts of Eau Claire Memorial set a record in the 3,200 run, winning her second straight title with a time of 10:13.68.  Kylie Swiekatowski of De Pere broke the pole vault record en route to her second consecutive championship at a height of 12-7.  Brooke Jaworski of Wausau West set the record in the 400 dash in a time of 54.33, and the Wausau West 1,600 relay set a new standard with at time of 3:50.75. Jaworski won three events in the meet, including the 200 and 400 dashes, and as a member of the 1,600 relay.

Alexis Jackson of Oregon was also a three-time champion by winning the 100 and 300 hurdles, and as a member of the 800 relay.

Five records were set in Division 2 in the girls’ meet.  Tess Keyzers of Hayward won the shot put for the second year in a row with a record throw of 47-3.  Ja’Cey Simmons of Milwaukee Lutheran won the 200 dash after setting a record in the prelims with a time of 24.63. Sydney Currie of Cambridge set a record in the 800 run with a time of 2:11.80. A record-setting performance was also turned in by the Wittenberg-Birnamwood 1,600 relay with a time of 3:56.66 and by the Catholic Memorial 400 relay with a time of 49.03.

The boys’ Brookfield East 1,600 relay was the lone record set in Division 1. They won the event with a time of 3:15.87.

In Division 2, Ben Gucinski set the State mark in the high jump with a height of 7-1, and Kenny Bednarek of Rice Lake won the 400 dash after establishing a new record in the prelims at 47.42.

No records were posted in Division 3 for the boys, but Jake Gajewski of Newman Catholic won three events, including the 100 and 200 dashes, and as a member of the 400 relay.

Lauren Reesman of Catholic Central set the record in the girls’ wheelchair shot put with a throw of 15-3 1/2. She won three other events, including the 100 and 400 dashes, and the 800.

Joe Schubert of Marquette was a three-time champion in the boys’ wheelchair competition, winning the 100 and 400 dashes, as well as the 800.


Theme picker