State Softball Crowns four Champions

News Article


News Releases

Sunday, June 14, 2015

State Softball Crowns four Champions

The 40th Annual Girls State Softball Tournament battled through persistent precipitation to concluded Saturday with the crowning of four champions at Goodman Diamond Saturday.

Westosha Central (28-4) won the Division 1 championship with a 3-0 win over Watertown (22-9) in the final. Alyssa Hrncar tossed a five hit shutout. It was a the Falcons' second title in the last three seasons. They finished runner-up last season after winning the title in 2013. 

La Crosse Logan (28-1) is the champion in Division 2 following the Rangers' 3-0 shutout over Waupun (27-5) in the final. Jordyn Kleman struck out 11 hitters and allowed just three hits to notch the victory. She also belted a solo home run to pace the offense. It was the first State championship for the Rangers.

Laconia (29-3) edged Poynette (29-2) for the Division 3 championship. The Spartans made single runs in the fourth and fifth innings stand up after Pumas scored just a single run in the sixth with the bases loaded and one out. The Spartans are champions for the first time.

Pacelli (24-5) pushed across a run in the bottom of the sixth inning and held on for a 1-0 win over defending champion Oakfield (26-4) to win the Division 4 crown. Sarah Mitch singled home Sami Kay Shafranski from second for the only run of the game. The Oaks had a runner on third with one in the seventh but couldn't score. The Cardinals win their third State championship, also winning in Division 3 in 2012 and in Division 4 in 2003.


Theme picker