State Individual Wrestling Champions Crowned

News Article


News Releases

Saturday, February 27, 2016

State Individual Wrestling Champions Crowned

The 73rd State Individual Wrestling Tournament concluded with the crowning of 42 champions Saturday at the Kohl Center in Madison.

Among the champions were 15 former champions adding to their total.

Hunter Marko of Amery became the 14th wrestler to win four State titles. He won his Division 2 title bout at 138 with a 9-1 major decision to improve his record to 36-0. 

Paul Bianchi of Two Rivers won his third straight Division 2 championship with an 11-2 major decision to run his record to 52-0 this season at 120. He also won the 106 championship in 2014 and the 113 title last season. Hunter Dischler of Ithaca/Weston returned to the championship stand by winning the Division 3 title at 132 with a 5-3 decision in the title match to improve his record to 46-1. He also won titles in 2013 at 106 and in 2014 at 113. Three-time champion Beau Breske of Hartford captured the Division 1 crown to cap a 51-0 season with a pin at 3:31 in the championship final at 182. He was the champion at 152 in 2013 and at 170 in 2014.

There were a pair of two-time champions in Division 1. Collin Kraus of Stoughton won by a 13-4 major decision in the final to win the crown at 145 to improve his record 51-2. He won the title at 138 a year ago. Mason Stokke of Menomonie won the title at 220 with a 7-0 decision in the final. He ups his perfect record to 31-0 this season after winning the 195 title last year with a 44-0 mark.

Brock Bergelin of Denmark won his second Division 2 championship following a 6-2 win in the final to improve his record to 43-1. He was the 106 champion a year ago. Sam Stuhl of Ellsworth is the champion at 126 after winning the crown at 120 in 2015. He improved to 41-5 this season with a 5-0 decision in his championship bout. Devin Bahr of West Salem/Bangor capped an undefeated season at 50-0 with a 13-7 decision in the title match. He won the 132 championship back in 2014. Bennett Paulson followed up his title at 182 last season with a title at 195 this season following a 4-1 decision in the final. He increased his win total to 43 against two defeats.

 Division 3 had five two-time champions crowned. Riley Lull of Fennimore won his title bout by a 7-0 decision to improve to 43-5 this season at 113. He won the 106 title for Riverdale in 2014. A.J. Schoenfuss, Jeremy Schoenherr and Kamren Bornbach of Stratford each won their second consecutive crown. Schoenfuss won at 120 with a 6-2 decision to improve his record to 49-3 after winning at 106 last year. Schoenherr remained undefeated at 41-0 with a 15-13 decision in his match-up in the 126 final. He won at 113 last season. Bornbach improved to 48-0 on the season with a 4-3 decision to retain the title he won at last year at 182. Wilder Wichman of Johnson Creek has gone two seasons without a defeat. He won the title at 145 with a 19-8 major decision to notch a 44-0 mark this season after winning the title at 138 last season with a 43-0 tally.

In addition to the multiple-time champions that won titles without a loss, other champions with unblemished marks in Division 1 include Dylan Koontz of Stevens Point at 113 with a 44-0 record and  Jacob Raschka of Pewaukee at 195 with a 54-0 mark. In Division 2, Nate Trepanier of Oconto Falls won at 145 with a 47-0 record, and Brady Wetter of Dodgeville was victorious at 220 with a 29-0 mark. 

Stratford recorded four State champions to lead all programs. Amery, Pewaukee, Stevens Point and Stoughton each had a pair of champions.



Brady Koontz (Stevens Point) 43-1 won by decision over Dominic Dentino (Arrowhead) 31-8 (Dec 11-4)
Dylan Koontz (Stevens Point) 44-0 won by decision over Aaron Schulist (Mukwonago) 38-5 (Dec 8-4)
Ty Lee (Kaukauna) 43-6 won by major decision over Eric Wunsch (Menomonee Falls) 35-7 (MD 9-1)
Kevin Meicher (Middleton) 43-3 won by decision over Justin Folley (Wauwatosa West/E.) 48-2 (Dec 9-8)
Jaden Van Maanen (La Crosse Central) 46-1 won by decision over Nathan Smith (Mukwonago) 31-4 (Dec 9-2)
Garrett Model (Stoughton) 48-6 won by decision over Andrew McIntosh (Oak Creek) 44-5 (Dec 6-2)
Collin Kraus (Stoughton) 51-2 won by major decision over Jake Morgan (Wilmot Union) 40-2 (MD 13-4)
Hayden Krein (Sparta) 43-5 won by decision over Tyler Dow (Stoughton) 49-6 (Dec 12-8)
Jackson Hemauer (DeForest) 48-2 won by decision over Fritz Schierl (Stevens Point) 43-1 (Dec 6-3)
Billy Pitzner (Milton) 49-4 won in sudden victory - 1 over Sawyer Massie (Hudson) 46-1 (SV-1 6-4)
 Beau Breske (Hartford Union) 51-0 won by fall over Oscar Ramos (Kenosha Bradford/Reuther) 47-3 (Fall 3:31)
Jacob Raschka (Pewaukee) 54-0 won by decision over Dalton Hahn (Reedsburg) 47-2 (Dec 14-7)
Mason Stokke (Menomonie) 31-0 won by decision over Konrad Ernst (Onalaska) 38-2 (Dec 7-0)
Blaze Beltran (Pewaukee) 53-2 won by decision over Cole Mikrut (Badger) 42-3 (Dec 7-2)


Bryce Bosman (Luxemburg-Casco) 43-6 won in tie breaker - 1 over Joey Bianchi (Two Rivers) 43-9 (TB-1 2-1)
Brock Bergelin (Denmark) 43-1 won by decision over Chris Ruf (Mauston) 45-3 (Dec 6-2)
Paul Bianchi (Two Rivers) 52-0 won by major decision over Eric Bauer (Kewaskum) 49-2 (MD 11-2)
Sam Stuhl (Ellsworth) 41-5 won by decision over Dustin Hatfield (River Valley) 43-6 (Dec 5-0)
Ryan Hannah (Viroqua) 47-5 won by decision over Nolan Kicmol (Evansville/Albany) 41-4 (Dec 5-2)
Hunter Marko (Amery) 36-0 won by major decision over Brady Simonson (Bloomer/Colfax) 42-4 (MD 9-1)
Nate Trepanier (Oconto Falls) 47-0 won by decision over Ben Klister (Wrightstown) 40-7 (Dec 3-0)
Devin Bahr (West Salem/Bangor) 50-0 won by decision over Josh Verbeten (Wrightstown) 40-8 (Dec 13-7)
Seth Vosters (Freedom) 43-5 won by decision over Sean Mattek (Sheboygan Falls) 38-4 (Dec 8-2)
Jordan Michael (Lomira) 48-6 won by decision over Tucker Peterson (Medford Area) 37-2 (Dec 8-6)
 Matt Blome (Mount Horeb) 46-2 won by fall over Kaleb Kaminski (Tomahawk) 45-2 (Fall 6:58)
Bennett Paulson (Amery) 43-2 won by decision over August Peplinski (Wittenberg-Birn.) 48-1 (Dec 4-1)
Brady Wetter (Dodgeville) 29-0 won by fall over Traiten Gorr (Monroe) 42-3 (Fall 3:33)
Gabe Bautz (Catholic Memorial) 45-6 won by decision over Cole Warzynski (Almond Bancroft/Pacelli) 47-2 (Dec 8-3)


Ryan Anderson (Clear Lake) 41-1 won by decision over Macey Kilty (Stratford) 28-5 (Dec 9-6)
Riley Lull (Fennimore) 43-5 won by decision over Josh Depies (Random Lake) 39-4 (Dec 7-0)
A. J. Schoenfuss (Stratford) 49-3 won by decision over Riley Blair (Fennimore) 25-5 (Dec 6-2)
Jeremy Schoenherr (Stratford) 41-0 won by decision over Alston Nutter (Fennimore) 41-6 (Dec 15-13)
Hunter Dischler (Ithaca/Weston) 46-1 won by decision over Cal Hansen (Deerfield) 44-4 (Dec 5-3)
Brock Schlough (Boyceville) 42-4 won by decision over Justin Tollefson (Fennimore) 35-8 (Dec 8-3)
Wilder Wichman (Johnson Creek) 44-0 won by major decision over Isaac Roffers (Reedsville) 42-7 (MD 19-8)
Bradon Roen (Riverdale) 30-2 won by forfeit over Mason Kauffman (Stratford) 50-1 (For.)
Stetson Clary (Ithaca/Weston) 29-3 won by decision over Zach Coffeen (Laconia) 47-4 (Dec 13-6)
Helton Vandenbush (Random Lake) 47-3 won by decision over Drew Hennessey (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 32-11 (Dec 3-1)
Kamren Bornbach (Stratford) 48-2 won by decision over Garrett Joles (Boyceville) 44-4 (Dec 4-3)
Jaxon Seufzer (Dodgeland) 45-2 won by decision over Hunter Huiras (Random Lake) 43-10 (Dec 7-6)
Ethan Hofacker (Spring Valley/Elmw.) 40-3 won by fall over Ian Ruble (Clear Lake) 36-8 (Fall 3:33)
Tyson Kauffman (Stratford) 48-3 won by decision over Bennett Gunderson (Bonduel) 43-10 (Dec 3-0)


Theme picker