State Hockey Tournament Champions Crowned

News Article


News Releases

State Hockey Tournament Champions Crowned

Friday, March 3, 2023

State Hockey Tournament Champions Crowned

MIDDLETON, Wis. – The 2023 State Hockey Tournament crowned a pair of boys champions and a girls champion Saturday at Bob Suter’s Capitol Ice Arena.

Notre Dame, the top-seeded team in Division 1, completed a perfect season with a 28-0 record following an 8-2 victory over Verona in the championship game. 

The Tritons scored three times in the first period to take control of the game. Sam Kappell opened the scoring at 5:45 gone in the period, and 20 seconds later, Drew Schock added a goal to build the Notre Dame lead to 2-0. Kappell scored his second goal of the period with a minute remaining before intermission. 

The Wildcats struck with a goal by Lars Brotzman five minutes into the second period to reduce their deficit to 3-1.  However, Verona could not cut their deficit any closer the remainder of the game.

Notre Dame scored five times in the final period. Bryce Dahl, Kaed McCarron and Koeppell added goals in the first six minutes of the third period. Mason Peapenburg and Michael McIntee each contributed power-play goals midway through the period to cap the scoring for the Tritons. In addition to recording a hat trick, Koeppell assisted on Dahl’s goal.

Condrad Moline scored the final goal of the game with three seconds remaining for the Wildcats.

The Tritons more than doubled the shots on goal by the Wildcats at 33-15. Lleyton Jaschke was credited with the victory in net for the Tritons, making 13 saves, and Blake Craven recorded 25 saves for the Wildcats.

Notre Dame wins its second State championship in 10 experiences in the tournament. Verona completes its season as runner-up in its 11th State Tournament appearance.

Top-seeded New Richmond (24-4) won the Division 2 crown with a 5-1 victory over Oregon in championship game. The Tigers built a 3-0 lead in the first period on a power-play goal by Easton Schmit, and Bjorn Bahneman and Ben Hahn each added a goal before Oregon got on the board. James Sherven narrowed the Panthers’ deficit to 3-1 with a short-handed goal with less than a minute to play in the first period.

After a scoreless second period, Catcher Langeness added insurance for the Tigers with an empty net goal late in the third period to increase the margin to 4-1. Bahneman added his second goal of the game with another empty net tally a little more than a minute later to cap the scoring.

The Tigers outshot the Panthers 30-22 in the game. Blake Milton made 21 saves to get the win in goal for New Richmond. Nathan McAlpine made 24 saves for Oregon.

New Richmond wins its first State title in five State Tournament appearances. Oregon (17-12) finishes runner-up in its first-ever tourney appearance.

The De Pere/Ashwaubenon/Bay Port/Green Bay East/Green Bay Preble/Green Bay Southwest/Green Bay West/Notre Dame/Pulaski/Seymour/West De Pere Co-op (25-3), the top seed in the girl’s tournament, earned the championship with a 3-0 shutout over Superior/Northwestern in the title game.

The Ice Bears’ first score was a short-handed goal early in the first period by Kristina Kruse. They scored again toward the end of the second period on a power-play goal by Addison Dahl. The De Pere Co-op added an insurance score within the first minute of the third period when Claire Bradford found the back of the net.

The Spartans outshot the Ice Bears 32-23 in the game led by Mikaela Reinke with 11 shots. Anna Byczek was the winning goalie, stopping all 32 shots directed at the goal. Kaylie Nault made 20 stops in goal for the Spartans.

The De Pere Co-op wins its second State championship with this configuration of the co-op in its third State appearance. Superior/Northwestern (20-6) finishes runner-up in its first State experience as a co-op.

All Tournament Results & Boxscores





Theme picker