State Girls Individual Tennis Tournament Champions Crowned

News Article


News Releases

State Girls Individual Tennis Tournament Champions Crowned

Thursday, October 12, 2023

State Girls Individual Tennis Tournament Champions Crowned

MADISON, Wis. – A pair of singles players and two doubles teams won championships at the 2023 State Girls Individual Tennis Tournament Saturday at Nielsen Tennis Stadium.

Second-seeded Karlie Schock of Bay Port, won the Division 1 singles crown with a 6-1, 6-0 victory over fifth-seeded Lexie Hankel of Janesville Craig in the championship match. Schock finishes the sesaon with a 16-1 record, and Hankel finishes the season at 28-2 after placing third last year.

Top-seeded Olivia Minikel of Manitowoc Lincoln placed third with a 6-1, 6-3 win over sixth-seeded Annalise Yang of Sun Prairie East in the third-place match.

In doubles play, the top-seeded tandem of Molly Jex and Lizzie Stuckslager of Divine Savior Holy Angels successfully defended the title they won last season, defeating seventh-seeded Ashley Andler and Keena Cheng of Middleton 6-1, 6-2 in the championship final. Jex and Stuckslager capped an undefeated season with a record of 22-0.

The third-seeded pair of Ana Cristescu and Lillianna Graf of De Pere placed third with a hard fought 5-7, 6-3, 10-7 victory over the fifth-seeded duo of Alison Abhold and Ella Wagner of Kettle Moraine. Cristescu also finished third last season with a different partner.

In Division 2, second-seeded Angela Wang of the University School of Milwaukee defeated two-time defending champion and top-seeded Lily Olson of Edgewood with a 6-1, 6-3 victory in the championship match. It’s the second straight season Olson and Wang have played for the title.

Fourth-seeded Danica Silcox of Aquinas, a four-time qualifier, finished third by downing third-seeded Lily Jorgenson of The Prairie School by scores of 6-3, 6-3.

In doubles action, top-seeded Isabel Werner and Mia Darr of the University School of Milwaukee won the crown with a 6-4, 6-2 victory over second-seeded Sophia Torke and Grace Villwock of Kohler in the title match. Werner qualified for the fourth time in her career. She teamed with Darr to finish third last season. In 2021 with a different partner, Werner  won the State title and also qualified with a another partner in 2020. Darr advanced to the second round with a different partner in 2021.

The fourth-seeded tandem of Bella Bauer and Josie Rondestvedt of Altoona finished third by defeating third-seeded Gabby Stammer and Grace Ogden of Xavier by scores of 6-3, 7-5.  

The State Girls Team Tennis Tournament will be held Friday and Saturday, Oct. 20-21 at the Nielsen Tennis Stadium.

 Results Links



Theme picker