State Cross Country Champions Crowned

News Article


News Releases

State Cross Country Champions Crowned

Saturday, November 2, 2019

State Cross Country Champions Crowned

WISCONSIN RAPIDS, Wis. – Team and individual champions in three girls and boys divisions were crowned at the WIAA State Cross Country Championships Saturday at The Ridges Golf Course in Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.

Muskego ran to its second consecutive girls Division 1 State team championship by scoring 72 points. They won the program’s first title last season following a runner-up finish in 2017. Onalaska placed second with 111 points, and last year’s runner-up Sun Prairie was third with 134. Junior Kora Malecek of Onalaska ran to the individual championship after placing fifth last year and 11th in 2017. Her time of 17:44.6 was the swiftest in the history of the 5,000-meter course at the State Meet. Sophomore Lauren Pansegrau of Middleton finished runner-up with a time of 18:14.2.

Middleton won the Division 1 State boys team championship for the second time in the past three seasons with a five-runner score of 104 points. It’s the program’s third State team title. Stevens Point  was runner-up with 116 points, and Hortonville was third with 179. Senior Jake Krause of Hortonville won the individual championship, finishing the 5,000-meter course with a time of 15:34.2. Junior Cael Grotenhuis of Slinger placed second with a time of 15:42.5. 

Shorewood hoisted of the girls team gold trophy in Division 2 by scoring 61 points to earn the program’s first State team championship. Osceola came in second with 102 points, and last year’s runner-up Freedom was third with 149. Sophomore Kayci Martensen of Southwestern/Benton/Cuba City finished with a time of 18:19.9 to earn the individual championship after placing third last year. Sophomore Anna Gallagher of Two Rivers finished second in a time of 18:50.6 after placing fifth a year ago.

Valders won its third consecutive boys team title in Division 2 and its fifth overall with 78 points. Notre Dame was second for the second straight season with 108 points, and Freedom finished third with 116. Senior Lucas Florsheim of Shorewood was the individual champion with a time of 15:58.8. He improved upon his eighth-place finish in 2018. Junior Leo Richardson of Edgewood was runner-up with a time of 16:11.9. 

Lourdes Academy won the program’s sixth State girls team championship by capturing the Division 3 with a team score of 112. Gillett was second with 126 points, and last season’s runner-up Auburndale came in third with 128 points. Sophomore Abby Bartel of Weyauwega-Fremont race to the individual championship in a time of 18:52.9 after placing 11th a year ago. Freshman Samantha Herrling of Wisconsin Heights/Barneveld came in second with a time of 19:09.2.

Aquinas won its second straight State team title in Division 3 and its third overall by posting a score of 68 points. Brillion improved upon last year’s third-place standing with a runner-up total of 96 points. Kohler placed third with 119 points. Senior Christian Patzka of Wisconsin Heights/Barneveld won the individual championship with a time of 16:08.7 after finishing fifth in Division 2 last year. Senior Matthew Marcinske of Birchwood placed second with a time of 16:14.5 following an 11-place finish in 2018.

Girls Results
Division 1 Girls Results
Division 2 Girls Results
Division 3 Girls Results

Boys Results
Division 1 Boys Results
Division 2 Boys Results
Division 3 Boys Results


Theme picker