Singles, Duos Win Girls Tennis Crowns

News Article


News Releases

Singles, Duos Win Girls Tennis Crowns

Saturday, October 16, 2021

Singles, Duos Win Girls Tennis Crowns

MADISON, Wis. – The 51st State Girls Individual Tennis Tournament produced singles and doubles champions in two divisions at the Nielsen Tennis Stadium Saturday.

Top-seeded Kaeda Usui of Franklin (35-0) won the State singles title with a 7-5, 6-7 (8), 6-2 victory over freshman and third-seeded Parker Christensen of Elkhorn (25-2) in the championship match. She is the second freshman to win the State championship in Division 1 this year after Annalise Yang of Madison La Follette, who placed fifth, won the alternate season crown in the spring.

Zaya Iderzul, a four-time qualifier, finished third for the second straight year, defeating Netra Somasundaram of Middleton 6-2, 6-3 in the third-place match. Between the third-place finishes, Iderzul earned the silver medal in 2019. Somasundaram placed fourth after finishing fifth in the alternate season tourney last spring. Yang defeated Ava Dunsirn of Neenah in the fifth-place match 6-2, 6-2 after she won the alternate season title.

The third-seeded tandem of Sophia Paape and Shelby Roth of Neenah (31-1) defeated the top-seeded sister tandem of Christina Pan and Emily Pan of Muskego (17-1) to capture the gold in doubles play in Division 1 with a 6-4, 6-0 win. Paape and Roth also won the alternate season doubles championship last spring.

Carly Lehman and Madelyn Dziubek of Franklin was victorious in their third place match against the Kettle Moraine duo of Ella Martin and Anna Sueflohn by a 6-4, 6-3 tally. Dziubek also finished third last season with a different partner. Maggie Krill and Therese Raster of Brookfield East defeated Paige Plemel and Bryn Gonzales of Whitefish Bay 6-4, 6-3 to win the fifth-place match.

Top-seeded Lily Olson of Edgewood (22-0) won the Division 2 singles championship with a 6-1, 6-0 triumph over second-seeded Lauren Lindow of East Troy (32-3). Olson wins the title on the heels of a runner-up finish while playing for Madison Memorial during the alternate season in the spring. Lindow finishes runner-up following a fifth-place standing last season.

In the third-place match, Aubrey Jayne of University of School of Milwaukee defeated Jessica Jacobson of Catholic Memorial 6-2, 6-4, and Emily Gauger of Big Foot/Williams Bay captured fifth following a 6-1, 6-2 win over Maggie McGinnis of Xavier in the fifth-place match.

In Division 2 doubles action, top-seeded Rebecca Daskal and Isabel Werner of University School of Milwaukee (25-7) earned the championship with a 6-2, 6-3 victory over the second-seeded team of Sophia Rondeau and Katie Metcalf of East Troy (33-2). Daskal won her second consecutive doubles title after winning the title with a different partner last season. Rondeau and Metcalf returned to the tournament after placing fourth a year ago.

Jeslyn Singson and Courtney Sturm won the third-place match 6-3, 6-1 over Ella Schroeder and Marissa Stolt of Pacelli, and Evie Shepich and Teigan Petersilka of Regis were the fifth-place finishers after downing Lexington Berger and Kallahan Bowman of Rice Lake 6-1, 6-4.

The State Girls Tennis Team Tournament will be held next weekend, Oct. 22-23 at the Nielsen Tennis Stadium in Madison.


Theme picker