Singles & Doubles Teams Win State Girls Tennis Titles

News Article


News Releases

Singles & Doubles Teams Win State Girls Tennis Titles

Saturday, October 15, 2022

Singles & Doubles Teams Win State Girls Tennis Titles

MADISON, Wis. – The 2022 State Girls Individual Tennis Tournament produced a pair of singles and doubles champions Saturday at Nielsen Tennis Stadium.

Top-seeded Parker Christensen of Elkhorn earned the Division 1 singles crown with a 6-0, 6-1 victory over seventh-seeded Emily Pan of Muskego in the championship match after placing runner-up a year ago. She finishes the season undefeated at 34-0. Pan transitioned to singles play this season after finishing runner-up in doubles play last year.

Lexie Hankel of Janesville Craig, the 11th seed, placed third with a 6-0, 6-1 win over fourth-seeded Natalie Stanula of Milwaukee Reagan in the third-place match.

In doubles play, the fourth seeded tandem of Molly Jex and Lizzie Stuckslager of Divine Savior Holy Angels won the State title, defeating sixth-seeded Zoe Larson and Carly O’Leary of Cedarburg 6-2, 6-0 in the championship final. Jex and Stuckslager improved their record to 31-4 in 2022.

The top-seeded pair of Ana Cristescu and Sophia Fergus of De Pere placed third following a 7-6(4), 6-4 victory over the seventh-seeded duo of Keagan Potter and Kate Conger of Oshkosh West.

In Division 2, defending champion Lily Olson of Edgewood successfully defended the crown she won last season. As the second seed in the bracket this season, she recorded a 6-2, 6-3 victory over top-seeded Angela Wang of the University School of Milwaukee in the championship match. Olson to improves her record to 23-1 this season. She also advanced to the title match and placed runner-up in the 2020-21 alternate season playing for Madison Memorial. 

Olivia Pethan of Fox Valley Lutheran, a four-time qualifier, finished third from the #4 seeded position by downing third-seeded Lauren Lindow of East Troy by scores of 3-6, 6-3, 12-10. Lindow was runner-up last year and fifth in 2020.

In doubles action, top-seeded Maia Samuelson and Ava Meyer of New Berlin Eisenhower moved down a division after advancing to the third round in Division 1 a year ago to win the Division 2 championship this season. They improved their record to 33-2 this year with a 6-4, 6-1 triumph over third-seeded Sophia Rondeau and Katie Metcalf of East Troy in the title match. It’s the second straight season Rondeau and Metcalf have finished runner-up to go with a fifth-place finish in 2020.

Isabel Werner and Mia Darr of the University School of Milwaukee placed third in doubles play with a  6-2, 6-1 victory over seventh-seeded Madeline Dehnert and Gracie Niebler of Jefferson in the third-place match. Werner was coming off a year when she won the State doubles championship in 2021 with a different partner.

The State Girls Team Tennis Tournament will be held Friday and Saturday, Oct. 21-22 at the Nielsen Tennis Stadium.

 Results Links


Theme picker