Monona Grove Div. 2 Champs; Kaszubowski Wins 4th

News Article


News Releases

Friday, February 20, 2015

Monona Grove Div. 2 Champs; Kaszubowski Wins 4th

History was made in the first event of the Division 2 State Boys Swimming and Diving Championships at the UW Natatorium Friday.

Senior Joe Kaszubowski of Whitefish Bay became the just the second diver in boys State Meet history to win four championships and only the fourth competitor to accomplish the feat in any event. He captured the Division 2 diving crown with a score of 569.20.

Monona Grove was crowned champion for the second time in the past three seasons, having won the program’s first title in 2013. The Eagles compiled 309 points, 42 more than runner-up McFarland. Shorewood finished third with 213 points and Nicolet was fourth with 200.

Junior Bailey Bodart of Grafton won both the 50 and 100 freestyle championships. He posted a time of 21.60 in winning the 50-yard event after finishing runner-up a year ago. He won the 100-yard title with a time of 47.51.

Freshman Ben McDade of Monona Grove made quite a first impression in the State Meet by winning the 200- and 500-yard freestyles. He won the 200 in a time of 1:42.50, and he defeated a pair of former champions in the 500. His time of 4:37.04 bested senior Kevin Van Cleave of Brookfield Academy­--a two-time champion in the event--and senior Nick Potter of DeForest, who tied Van Cleave for the top spot last year. Van Cleave did win his second straight title in the 200 individual medley with a time of 1:53.56.

McDade won his third event of the meet as a member of the 400 freestyle relay. He teamed with seniors Alex Kimmell and Lars Doll, and sophomore Erik Doll to post a time of 3:12.05. The Eagles’ foursome of Kimmell, the Doll brothers and senior Josh Jones also won the 200 freestyle relay with a time of 1:26.09.

Senior Zach Soper of Shawano won his second straight championship in the 100 backstroke, finishing in a time of 50.00. Junior Michael Perry of Shorewood won the 100 butterfly after finishing second the past two seasons. He finished with a time of 50.78, just ahead Soper, who won the event last season.

Junior Benny Liang of Whitewater won a competitive 100 breaststroke by winning the first heat of the event with a time of 59.07.

The Whitewater 200 medley relay comprised of senior Wentao Guo, junior Benny Liang, and seniors Jonathan Zimdars and Jason Shelbourn won the gold medal with a time of 1:36.86.

The Division 1 championships begin with the diving competition at Saturday at 10 a.m. The swimming event finals are scheduled for 3 p.m.


Theme picker