Madison Memorial Wins 5th Straight Team Title

News Article


News Releases

Saturday, February 21, 2015

Madison Memorial Wins 5th Straight Team Title

Madison Memorial won five events to cruise to its fifth straight Division 1 team title at the State Boys Swimming and Diving Championships Saturday in Madison, Wis.

The Spartans won its membership-leading 15th title with 350.5 points, and Madison West placed second for the third straight year, compiling 201 points. Cedarburg was third with 192 points.

The Spartans broke out to an early lead with a record-breaking performance in the 200-yard medley relay and looked back. It was the Spartans’ fifth straight championship in the relay. The team of juniors Justin Temprano and Ben Gebhart, and seniors Amos Kaldorf and Alex Peterson-Weber swam to a meet record time of 1:33.06.

In addition, the Spartans won their fourth straight title in the 200 freestyle relay in impressive fashion. The quartet of senior Ryan Menninga, Kaldorf, junior Rory Sanchez and Peterson-Weber were clocked with the time of 1:24.45, which is the second-fastest time in meet history.

Gebhart successfully defended his 2014 title in the 100 butterfly in a time of 49.70, narrowly edging junior Ivar Iverson of Kenosha Bradford by .03 of a second. Temprano also defended his 2014 championship in the 100 backstroke with a time of 49.88.

In a relatively rare occurrence, Peterson-Weber and senior Reilly Donnellan of Neenah were both crowned champions of the 50 freestyle, sharing the title by turning in identical times of 21.00.

Sophomore Paul DeLakis of Eau Claire Memorial/North won his second straight title in the 200 individual medley with a record time of 1:46.91, eclipsing the former mark of 1:48.66 set by Ben Anderson of Arrowhead back in 1997. He also turned in the meet’s second-fastest time ever in winning his second consecutive championship in 100 breaststroke with a time of 55.52.

Senior Nick Plachinski of Cedarburg was a three-time champion. He repeated as the gold medalist in the 200 freestyle with a time of 1:39.08. He added the title in the 500 freestyle in a time of 4:29.21 after finishing second last season. His effort was the second-fastest time ever recorded in the event. Pachinski’s third title came in the 400 freestyle relay with sophomore Will Hobbs and seniors Matthew Parker and Sam Douglas. They completed the relay in a time of 3:05.85, which ranks second-fastest all-time.

Aidan Meara, a junior from Madison West, was the winner in the 100 freestyle with a time of 46.48 after placing sixth last season. His teammate, junior Matt Munn, captured the State diving title with a score of 471.85 after placing fifth a year ago.


Theme picker