Lee, Marko, Martin Win Third Wrestling Titles

News Article


News Releases

Sunday, March 1, 2015

Lee, Marko, Martin Win Third Wrestling Titles

The 2015 State Individual Wrestling Championships concluded Saturday with the crowning of 42 champions in front of more than 13,000 spectators at the Kohl Center in Madison.

Of the 16 prior champions that entered the finals seeking another championship, 10 succeeded. There were three wrestlers that won their third State title. Robert Lee of Kaukauna (43-1) added his third Division 1 title with a 5-4 win in the final of the 138-pound weight class. Hunter Marko of Amery (40-1) won his third straight Division 2 title, winning the title at the 126-pound class with a 4-2 win. Cole Martin of Lancaster (45-1) also won a third title with a 15-3 major decision in the Division 3 145-pound final.

Josh Bird of Burlington (46-1) won his second Division 1 title with a 12-10 in the final at 132 pounds. 

In Division 2, Paul Bianchi of Two Rivers was among the two-time champions following a 3-2 win at 113 pounds. Chris Yauch of Two Rivers (50-3) added his second State title with a 3-1 sudden victory in the 130-pound weight class, and Dewey Krueger of Oconto Falls earned another title by winnng the 152-pound class with a 6-1 win in the final.

In Division 3, Jared Roen of Riverdale (43-3) celebrated his second State title with a 7-5 decision in the final of the 160-pound weight class. Devin Lemanski of Edgar won his second gold medal with an 18-2 technical fall in the final, and David Chadd of Lancaster won another championship at 195 following a 9-3 win in final.

Thirteen of the 18 wrestlers that entered the evening undefeated won State titles.

Airk Furseth of Janesville Craig won the Division 1 championship at 113 pounds by tie-breaker, 2-1, to finish undefeated at 45-0. Max Fisher of Waterford won gold in the 145-pound weight class with a 3-1 victory in the final to possess 29-0 record. Jordan Gundrum of West Bend East improved to 50-0 with a 9-0 major decision at 160 pounds. Mason Stokke of Menomonie, who won the title at 195 with a 6-0 decision,  finished the season with a 44-0 mark, and Alec Ingold of Bay Port was the undefeated champion at 41-0 with a 9-2 tally in his final bout at 220. 

In Division 2, Bianchi was undefeated at 113 pounds with a 51-0 record, and Jaden Winchel of Sparta captured the title at 132 with a 4-2 win in the final to improve his record to 48-0. Krueger ran his record to 42-0 by winning his championship match, and Cole LaLiberty of Chetek-Weyerhaeuser/Prairie Farm went undefeated at 30-0 to win the 285-pound class.

Mason Kauffman of Stratford finished the season 49-0 with a 9-5 decision in the title match to win the Division 3 title at 126. Wilder Wichman of Johnson Creek owned a 43-0 mark after winning the his final at 138 with a 5-3 decision. Lemanski finished the season undefeated at 41-0, and Chadd’s record was unblemished this year at 42-0.

Stratford led all programs with four individual champions, followed by Two Rivers with three. Amery, Lancaster, Menomonie and Wisconsin Rapids Lincoln each had two.


Theme picker