Girls Singles & Doubles Tennis Champions Crowned

News Article


News Releases

Saturday, October 14, 2017

Girls Singles & Doubles Tennis Champions Crowned

The 2017 State Girls Individual Tennis Tournament produced singles and doubles champions in two divisions at the Nielsen Tennis Stadium in Madison Saturday.

Third-seeded Kiki Risgaard of Neenah won the Division 1 singles title with a 7-5, 6-0 victory over top-seeded Andie Weise of Homestead in the title match after winning the doubles championship last season. She also finished third in singles play in 2015. Risgaard improved her record this year to 28-2.

Seventh-seeded Jordan Schifano of Divine Savior Holy Angels placed third, and Autumn Bruno finished fourth. Schifano’s teammate, Logan White, was fifth with Kimmy Steinert of Oshkosh West placing sixth. 

The fifth-seeded duo of Amanda Newman and Hailey Munz of Monona Grove defeated the second-seeded tandem of Frankie La Londe and Alyssa Boyer of Homestead to win the Division 1 doubles championship. They improved their record this season to 33-0. The pair improved on their finish last season when they advanced to the quarterfinals before being eliminated from title contention. 

Laura Nicholas and Abby Bremel of Madison West, the sixth-seeded duo, finished third, and eighth-seeded Samantha Ramsey and Gabby Majinski of New Berlin Eisenhower was fourth. In the fifth-place match, third-seeded Annabelle Crowley and Emma Koppa of Nicolet defeated top-seeded Hanna and Amanda Dorsey of Neenah.

Second-seeded Veda Sane of University School captured the Division 2 singles crown with a 3-6, 6-0,  
6-3 triumph over top-seeded Olivia Czerwonka of Kenosha St. Joseph in the championship match. She improved her record to 29-3 on the season after finishing third two years ago. 

Third-seeded Laura Larrain of Newman Catholic finished third, and fourth-seeded Giana Apostoli of Kenosha St. Joseph placed fourth. Larrain’s sister, Mia, placed fifth as the sixth seed, and fifth-seeded Riley Strauss of University School was sixth after finishing runner-up last year.

The top-seeded doubles team of Kaitlyn Kalinka and Megan Setter of Kenosha St. Joseph remained undefeated following their victory over the sixth-seeded team of Grace Drake and Kinsey Kessel of Edgewood 6-1, 6-1 in the title match. They improved their record this season to 33-0 record after finishing runner-up last season.

Second-seeded Meredith Heckert and Izzy Klesmith of Big Foot/Williams Bay placed third, and unseeded Elise Curtin and Stephnaie Sowin of Xavier was fourth. Elly Udovich and Ava Hoffmann of Kohler, who were seeded eight, placed fifth, and third-seeded Mackinzie Lindow and Erin Rice of East Troy were sixth.

The 2017 State Girls Team Tennis Tournament will be played Friday-Saturday, Oct. 20-21 at Nielsen Tennis Stadium in Madison, Wis. The Division 1 quarterfinals will begin Friday at 5:30 p.m. Play will resume Saturday with semifinal matches in both divisions at 9 a.m.

Division 1 Singles Results

Division 1 Doubles Results

Division 2 Singles Results

Division 2 Doubles Results

# WIAA #


Theme picker