Divisions 2 & 3 Team Wrestling Championship Matches Determined

News Article


News Releases

Divisions 2 & 3 Team Wrestling Championship Matches Determined

Wednesday, March 6, 2019

Divisions 2 & 3 Team Wrestling Championship Matches Determined

MADISON, Wis. – The semifinals in Divisions 2 and 3 advanced the top seeds to the chanmpionship matches of the State Team Wrestling Tournament at the UW Field House in Madison Saturday.

Two-time Division 3 defending champion and top-seed Stratford (19-0) defeated Random Lake (15-2) 41-24 in their match-up. Gavin Drexler, Hunter Ford and Trevor Dennee each recorded pins, and Manny Drexler earned a technical fall to lead the Tigers. Stratford won nine of the bout’s 14 matches.

Three of the Rams’ victories were by fall. Aiden Vandenbush, Grayson Vandenbush and Charlie Ruege pinned their opponents to account for 18 of Rams’ 24 points.

Second-seeded Fennimore (10-0) downed St. Croix Falls (13-1) 47-18 in the other Division 3 semifinal. The Golden Eagles won 10 of 14 matches, including pins by Mason Lull, Alex Birchman, Maguire Fitzgerald, Aaron Ragels and Deontae Spurley. 

Kole Marko, the individual champion at 138, and McKinley Erickson both recorded falls to lead the Saints.

In Division 2, last year’s runner-up and top-seeded Ellsworth (19-4) beat Wisconsin Lutheran (13-4) 50-18 in their semifinal Saturday morning.

The Panthers won 10 bouts in the match, including six by fall. Charlie Stuhl, Jared Lansing, Sawyer Hamilton, Cedric Kosnopfal, Logan Melstrom and Logan Peterson each pinned their opponent. Two of the Vikings four wins were pins recorded by Lucas Nygaard and Isaiah Hahm.

Freedom (18-3), the #2 seed, returns to the championship match for the first time since 2015 following its 35-28 triumph over Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau/Melrose-Mindoro (16-6) in their semifinal dual. 

The Irish claimed victory in eight bouts, including pins from Grant Vosters and Grant Williamson, as well as a technical fall by Sam Peters, the Division 2 individual champion at 160. The Titans were led by Tanner Anderson and Bryce Burns, who each won with falls in their matches.

The championship matches in three divisions are scheduled for 3 p.m. Saturday at the UW Field House in Madison, Wis.


Theme picker