Boys 3-Point Challenge Competitors

News Article


News Releases

Sunday, March 15, 2015

Boys 3-Point Challenge Competitors

The first WIAA Boys 3-Point Challenge will be conducted on Saturday, March 21 - 9 a.m. at the Kohl Center in Madison  The field of contestants is now final.  The top two shooters from each division will compete against each other to determine the overall champion.  WisSports compiled the stats and determined the top finishers per division.  If a school's team qualified, that competitor was not eligible for the Challenge.

On Saturday, anyone wishing to see the Challenge may enter the Kohl Center beginning at 8:15 a.m.  If you have a ticket for the Saturday Championship games for Divisions 5-4-3, that ticket will be good for the Challenge as well. Otherwise, tickets will be on sale at the Kohl Center during the entire Boys State Basketball Tournament.

The WIAA shall do a blind draw to determine the shooting order for all rounds.  The order will be announced prior to the date of the competition. 

Each shooter will shoot one round consisting of five racks of five (5) balls (total of 25 balls).

Beginning with  

Rack 1, shooters will compete in a round and rotate through the 5 racks as follows:

    Rack 1 - right corner

    Rack 2 - right side of free throw line extended

Rack 3 - top of circle

Rack 4 - left side of free throw line extended

    Rack 5 - left corner

Each made shot will count as 1 point.  The last ball on each rack will count for 2 points.

There will be a time limit of one (1) minute per shooter each round.  

Quarterfinal Round - 10 shooters

Semifinal Round - Top 4 shooters (point total) advance (2 rounds)

Final Round - Top 2 shooters (point total) advance (1 round).  Best score gets choice of going first or second.

Awards:   Plaque presented to winner along with medals to all qualifiers.

Ball: The Spalding Classic will be the official ball of the 3-Point Challenge


3PM 3PA 3P%

Philip Flory, Oshkosh North (10) 41 81 .506

Blake Johnson, Oshkosh West (11) 44 97 .454

William Brown, Delavan-Darien (11) 50 100 .500

Bailey Kale, La Crosse Central (10) 39 80 .487

Logan Maulick, Freedom (12) 38 77 .494

Tanner Bruchs, Poynette (12) 57 121 .471

Jake Hierlmeier, Glenwood City (12) 43 88 .489

Cole McDonald, Darlington (12) 46 95 .484

Christian Haffner, Gresham Community (12) 87 179 .486

Riley Geiger, Loyal (10)   40 89 .449


Theme picker