Boyceville's Slough Wins Fourth State Individual Wrestling Title

News Article


News Releases

Boyceville's Slough Wins Fourth State Individual Wrestling Title

Tuesday, February 26, 2019

Boyceville's Slough Wins Fourth State Individual Wrestling Title

MADISON, Wis. – The 76th Annual  State Individual Tournament championship produced 42 champions at the Kohl Center Saturday evening.

There were 18 former champions pursuing another championship and 16 were successful in adding a title to their list of career accomplishments. Most notably, Brock Schlough became just the 17th wrestler to win four State titles. He won the title in Division 3 at 152 pounds with an 11-3 major decision to give him a 50-0 record this year.

Five wrestlers became three-time champions. Eric Barnett of Hortonville won his third championship by winning his bout at 126 in Division 1 by fall at 2:48. He finishes his undefeated season with a 47-0 mark. Keegan O’Toole of Arrowhead was also crowned for the third time. He won at 145 in Division 1 with a 16-3 major decision to run his season record to 25-0. Shane Liegel of River Valley added his third championship with a fall at 5:43 in the Division 2 final at 182. He completes his season with a 47-0 record. A pair of Coleman teammates also celebrated their third championships in Division 3. Koltin Grzybowski won the 113-pound weight class with a 17-1 technical fall at 4:34, and Caleb Gross won at 126 with a 3-0 decision. Grzybowski improves his record to 43-2 this season, and Gross finishes 43-3 on the season.

The only match of the finals featuring a pair of former champions was at 132 in Division 2. Matty Bianchi of Two Rivers moved up three weight classes this season to win his second title. He won the Division 2 championship by defeating three-time champion Bryce Bosman of Luxemburg-Casco with a 3-1 decision. Bianchi improved his record to 50-2.

There were four past champions that added a second title in Division 1. Hayden Halter of Waterford won his second gold medal with an 8-3 decision at 120 to run his season record to 41-6. Hunter Lewis of Stoughton captured the title with an 8-7 decision at 138 to up his record to 52-1 this year, and Joshua Otto of Arrowhead moved up two weight classes to win the 170 title with an 11-5 decision, which improved his record to 42-1. Parker Keckeisen of Nicolet won his title bout at 182 with a 19-4 technical fall at 4:23, which gives him a 47-0 record.

Wrestlers winning their second title in Division 2 are Tommy Larson of East Troy (45-3) with a 2-1 decision at 113, Cody Holmes of Two Rivers (48-4) with a 6-5 decision at 126, Aidan Medora of St. John’s NW Military Academy/Brookfield Academy (33-0) by fall at 5:19 at the 138-pound weight class, Stephen Buchanan of Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal (48-0) with a 3-2 decision at 195, and Logan Zschernitz of Spencer/Columbus Catholic (46-0), who won by fall at 2:15 at 285.

In addition to the multiple champions, there were seven first-time undefeated champions, including three in Division 1, one in DIvision 2 and three in Division 3. In Division 1, Nicolar Rivera of Stoughton (55-0) won at 106, Dajun Johnson of Whitefish Bay/Dominican/University School (40-0) won at 160, and Jacob Somlai of Brookfield Central (48-0) won at 220.

In Division 2, Jacek Nickowski of Baldwin-Woodville (38-0) earned the title at 120. In Division 3, Cian Fischer of Weyauwega-Fremont (47-0) won at 120, Brady Spaeth of Cadott (46-0) earned the title at 160, and Trett Joles of Boyceville (50-0) won at 182.

Coleman, Stratford and Two Rivers share the distinction of having won the most individual titles with three. Arrowhead also had multiple individual championships with two.

The State Team Wrestling Tournament will be held Friday and Saturday, March 1-2 at the UW Field House in Madison.



Theme picker