Arrowhead; University School of Milwaukee Repeat as Girls Team Tennis Champions

News Article


News Releases

Arrowhead; University School of Milwaukee Repeat as Girls Team Tennis Champions

Saturday, October 21, 2023

Arrowhead; University School of Milwaukee Repeat as Girls Team Tennis Champions

MADISON, Wis. – A pair of programs repeated as team champions at the 2023 State Girls Team Tennis Tournament at Nielsen Tennis Center Saturday.

Second-seeded Arrowhead (24-3) won the Division 1 team title for the second year in a row with a 5-2 victory over top-seeded Middleton (18-3) in the championship match.

Emily Muresan and Mekenna Verhagen won their matches at the #2 and #3 singles positions, respectively, and all three doubles tandems posted wins to account for the Warhawks’ final score. Lily Liu and Sarah Neubert, who placed sixth last week at the State Individual Tournament, won at #1 doubles; Lily Schulz and Jacquelyn Cox won at the #2 position, and Taylor Kehoss and Rachel Radish were victorious in their #3 doubles match.

The Warhawks win their third State team championship in their fourth tourney appearance. Their first team title came in 2014. They defeated Eau Claire Memorial 7-0 in the quarterfinals Friday and Neenah 6-1 in the semifinals earlier Saturday to advance to the final.

The Cardinals placed runner-up in their 11th tourney appearance. They defeated Franklin 7-0 in the quarterfinals and Verona 5-2 in the semifinals to advance to the championship match.

In Division 2, top-seeded University School of Milwaukee (15-3) recorded a 6-1 win over third-seeded Xavier (13-5) in the title match for the second straight season to capture the crown. The Wildcats won all four singles matches, and two of the three doubles match-ups.

Angela Wang, who captured the singles championship at last weekend’s individual tournament, won her match at #1 singles, and Aubrey Jayne won at the #2 slot. Wynter Maitland was the winner at #3 singles. The duo of Isabel Werner and Mia Darr, who was the champion in doubles play at the individual championships, won their match at #1 doubles. Haley Erlich and Lindsey Gardner topped their opponent at the #2 position, and Ella McDonald and Olivia Gourlay won their #3 doubles match.

University School of Milwaukee notches its 12th State team championship in the school’s 15th tournament appearance. The Wildcats defeated Aquinas 7-0 to advance to the final.

The Hawks are runners-up in their fourth trip to the State Team Tournament. They defeated Altoona 5-2 in the semifinals to earn their berth in the championship match.

Results Page Link



Theme picker