Alternate Fall Sportsmanship Awards Selected

News Article


News Releases

Alternate Fall Sportsmanship Awards Selected

Sunday, June 6, 2021

Alternate Fall Sportsmanship Awards Selected

STEVENS POINT, Wis. – The Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association, in cooperation with Rural Mutual Insurance Company, has selected the team Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2020-21 alternate fall season State Tournaments.

Making accommodations for the uniqueness of the 2020-21 fall alternate season team championships, a winner was selected for each tournament final venue instead of the traditional one per tournament.

Middleton was the Sportsmanship Award winner in two sports during alternate fall season based on the evaluations from the respective tournaments. The Cardinals were named the recipients in boys volleyball and girls team tennis, giving them eight awards overall, including three in boys volleyball and two in girls tennis. The previous two awards in boys volleyball came in 2016 and 2018, and the one other girls team tennis award came in 2014. They also won the award in girls basketball in 2017 and in boys team tennis in 2007 and 2009. Middleton captured the girls team tennis title with a 4-3 win over top-seeded Neenah in the championship match, finished runner-up in boys volleyball after falling to Kimberly in the title game by scores of 25-21, 25-22, 16-25, 25-23.

Washburn is the girls volleyball recipient of the Sportsmanship Award. The Castle Guards win the school’s first recognition for sportsmanship at a State Tournament. They won the championship in Division 2 with a 25-22, 25-17, 20-25, 25-21

victory over Brodhead in the championship game after defeating St. Mary’s Springs in five sets in the semifinals. McFarland and Sun Prairie were given honorable mention for the award.

The two divisions in boys soccer were played at different locations. The Division 1 State Tournament was hosted at Kewaskum High School. De Pere was selected as the Sportsmanship Award winner following a runner-up finish. The Redbirds fell to Appleton North 1-0 in the championship game after defeating Waunakee by the same score in the semifinals. They claim their second Sportsmanship Award overall, and both have come in boys soccer with the former recognition coming in 1999.

McFarland received positive sportsmanship evaluations to be chosen as the award recipient in Division 2, which was played on the campus of Marian University in Fond du Lac. The Spartans rolled to the championship with a 6-1 win over Notre Dame in the finals after blanking Fort Atkinson 3-0 in the semifinals. It’s the third time McFarland has been honored for its tournament sportsmanship overall, and the second time in boys soccer. The Spartans won their previous award in boys soccer in 2018, and they also were recognized in girls soccer in 2007. Notre Dame received honorable mention for the award in Division 2.

Award winners are determined by the conduct and sportsmanship displayed by athletes, coaches, cheer and support groups, mascots, bands and spectators. Additional consideration is given for the effort of school administrators and chaperones to ensure support for their teams are positive and that the highest ideals of sportsmanship are demonstrated.

Award winners receive a trophy and banner in recognition of the honor. Schools receiving honorable mention are acknowledged with a certificate of recognition. The selection process includes contributions and evaluations from contest officials, tournament management, police and security personnel, crowd control and ushers, WIAA staff members, and area hotels and restaurants on occasion.

# WIAA #


Theme picker