State Individual Wrestling Tournament Produces Quartet of Four-Time Champions

News Releases

State Individual Wrestling Tournament Produces Quartet of Four-Time Champions

Sunday, February 26, 2023

State Individual Wrestling Tournament Produces Quartet of Four-Time Champions

MADISON, Wis. – The 80th Annual State Individual Wrestling Tournament produced 42 boys’ champions and 12 girls’ champions Saturday, including four wrestlers to claim the fourth championship of their high school careers.

The four additions to the prestigious list of wrestlers to win four titles increases the number to 26 in the history of the State Tournament. In addtion, there were 24 former boys champions entering the tournament in pursuit of another title and 16 accomplished the feat. There were three wrestlers who picked up their third title, nine that won a title for a second time and 10 boy wrestlers that remained undefeated this season.

Senior Greyson Clark of Kaukauna won his fourth straight title with a 13-3 major decision in the 138 title match in Division 1 to improve to 48-0 this season. Prior to this season, he wrestled to the championships at 138 last season, 126 in 2021 and 120 in 2020.

Senior Rhett Koenig of Prairie du Chien won his fourth championship with a 7-6 decision in the championship final at 138 in Division 2, giving him a 50-3 mark this season. He moved up a weight class this year after winning the 132 crown last season, 113 in 2021 and 106 in 2020.

Senior Braeden Scoles of Kewaskum rolled to the 160 title in Division 2 for the third season in a row, capped by a 19-4 technical fall at 6:00 in his championship match. He completes his season with an unblemished 52-0 mark. In addition to his three titles at 160, he won at 145 in 2020.

In Division 3, senior Brayden Sonnentag of Cadott earned the fourth gold medal of his prep career. He was a 1-0 victor in his championship bout at 132 after winning the 126 title last season, the 120 championship in 2021 and the 106 gold medal in 2020. He finishes this season undefeated with a 49-0 record.

Junior Connor Mirasola of West Bend West became a three-time champion by pinning his opponent in :32 seconds in the Division 1 championship match at 195 to give him a 53-2 record this year. He also won at 182 last year and at 170 in 2021. Junior Koy Hopke of Amery recorded three falls en route to his third straight Division 2 championship at 220. His pin at :39 completed an undefeated season at 53-0 to remained unbeaten in his first three seasons at 129-0. Junior Dawson Johnson of Cumberland also won his third title to elevate his record to 54-2 this year. He claimed the Division 3 gold medal at 126 with a 6-0 decision in the final. Johnson won at 120 last year after winning the title at 106 in 2021.

There were nine wrestlers that celebrated their second State championship in the tournament. In Division 1, junior Wyatt Duchateau of Arrowhead won the title at 145 with a pin at :52 in his title bout to improve his record to 42-1 after earning the gold medal last year at 132. Senior Ethan Riddle of Germantown improved to 52-2 at 170 this season with a 14-5 major decision in the final after winning at 160 a year ago. Junior Aeoden Sinclair of Milton scored a 12-6 decision in his championship match at 220 to finish undefeated this season with a 45-0 record after capturing the title at 170 in 2022. Cole Mirasola, brother of Connor, is now a two-time champion for West Bend West following his 19-9 major decision in the championship final at 285, improving his record to 53-2 after he earned the title at 195 last year.

In Division 2, junior Charlie Meudt of Dodgeville won his second consecutive title with a 12-6 decision in the 113 championship tilt. He upped his record to 54-1 this season after winning at 106 last year. Meudt’s teammate, junior Reid Spurley, also won his second championship in a row. He moved up from 113 to 120 this year and improve his record to 50-1 with a 3-0 decision in the title match. Sophomore Danny Heiser of Evansville won the title at 132 with a 3-1 decision in the final. He runs his record this season to 55-2 after celebrating the 120-pound title last year as a freshman. Senior Zane Licht of Lodi completed his season undefeated at 55-0 with a 6-1 decision in his title bout at 152 to successfully defend the title he won at the same weight in 2022.

Sophomore Co Ji Campbell of Kenosha St. Joseph won his second consecutive title by moving up from 113 last year to win the 120 title with a 12-6 decision in the Division 3 championship match. He finishes the season with an undefeated mark of 45-0.

Both Dodgeville and Fennimore claimed three individual championships and five other programs won a pair of individual titles, including Amery, Aquinas, Kaukauna, Mineral Point and West Bend West.  

The girls’ tournament featured seven returning champions from a year ago, and six wrestlers added another championship to their accomplishments. There were seven girls that maintained their undefeated status this season.

Sophomore Brooke Corrigan of De Pere was crowned champion at the 100-pound weight class for the second straight season. She notched a 10-4 decision in the title match to improve her record to 8-0. Senior Bopa Quintana of Sun Prairie West is the repeat champion at 114. She retains her title following a 6-4 decision in sudden victory in the championship bout to improve her record to 6-0 this season.

Senior Caitlyn Kelley of Florence/Niagara successfully defended her title at 120. She recorded a pin at 1:25 in the championship match to run her record this season to 32-1. Senior Kylie Rule of Mineral Point remained undefeated this season at 28-0 en route to defending her title at 132. She posted a pin at the 1:58 mark of her championship bout.

Sophomore Hailie Krueger of New London won by a 13-9 decision in the final to capture her second consecutive crown at 145. She improves her record to 29-1 this season. Sophomore Cyriana Reinwald of Horicon snatched victory from the jaws of defeat by erasing a deficit with a pin at 5:59 in her championship match at 165 after she won the weight bracket in 2022. She finishes her season with a 19-1 record. 

Badger was the only school to win more than a single girls title with two championships.

The State Team Wrestling Tournament will be held Friday-Saturday, March 3-4 at the UW Field House in Madison, Wis.

Complete Results Link to


Theme picker