Individual & Doubles Titles Won, Including Watchmaker's Second Crown

News Releases

Individual & Doubles Titles Won, Including Watchmaker's Second Crown

Sunday, June 4, 2023

Individual & Doubles Titles Won, Including Watchmaker's Second Crown

MADISON, Wis. –  Two divisions of singles players and doubles teams were crowned champions at the 2023 State Boys Tennis Tournament played at Nielsen Tennis Stadium Saturday.

In Division 2, top-seeded Max Watchmaker of the University School of Milwaukee successfully defended the singles crown he won a year ago. He outlasted second-seeded Adrian Yin of Brookfield Academy 6-4, 2-6, 10-6 to earn the title. He improved his mark to 21-2 this year after  winning the title last season and advancing to the quarterfinals in 2021. Yin places runner-up for the second time in three seasons, placing second in 2021 before defaulting in the second round last year.

In the third-place match, fourth-seeded Anderson Fortney of Aquinas beat sixth-seeded Hayden Latus of Catholic Memorial by set scores of 6-4, 6-2.

In Division 2 doubles play, the unseeded duo of Peyton Zeiler and Garv Bhasin of Brookfield Academy beat their fourth-seeded teammates from Brookfield Academy, Vibhu Guda and Sanjit Madireddi, to earn the championship with a 2-6, 6-1, 10-5 triumph. Zeiler and Bhasin upped their record to 15-3 this season.  It’s the second time an unseeded tandem has won the Division 2 doubles championship, In addition, it’s the second straight season Guda advanced to the title match, finishing runner-up with a different partner in 2022.

The top-seeded doubles team entering the tournament, Nick Bittner and Nate Hall of Xavier, won the third-place match 7-6 (5), 6-3 over the unseeded team of Alex Schmidt and Luke Yoon of New Berlin Eisenhower. Bittner and Hall improved on last year’s fourth-place finish.

In Division 1 singles play, top-seeded Oscar Corwin of Brookfield East, won the Division 1 singles championship with a 4-6, 7-5, 10-5 victory over second-seeded Nicholas Balthazor of De Pere in the title match. Corwin improved his record this season to 34-1 after placing sixth a year ago and winning two matches in the tournament in 2021.

Third-seeded Ethan Bo of Middleton, last year’s runner-up, placed third following with a 6-3, 2-6, 10-5 win over fourth-seeded Sam Klein of Brookfield East in the third-place match.

In Division 1 doubles play, fourth-seeded Lincoln Marshall and Daniel Egelhoff of Marquette defeated the third-seeded brother tandem of Chatton and Keenan Haws of Cedarburg in the championship match 7-6(5), 6-4 to capture the title. Marshall and Egelhoff entered tournament play with only eight match, improving their record in 2023 to 12-1. Incidentally, Marshall placed fifth at State last season with a different partner.

The top-seeded team in doubles bracket, Alex Aranda and Henry Vizgaitis of Nicolet, defeated the second-seeded tandem of Neel Mukherjee and Jonathan Kim of Middleton 6-4, 2-6, 10-3 to take third place.The State Boys Team Tennis Tournament is scheduled for Friday and Saturday, June 9-10 at Nielsen Tennis Stadium in Madison.

Tournament Results on Tennis Reporting


Theme picker