Wisconsin Wrestling Coaches Assocation
Thursday, December 7, 2017
Q: At a dual, the 132# contestants approach the scorer table in the correct sequence, and you determine they are weight eligible based on their actual weight. Prior to taking the wrestlers out to center circle, one of the coaches approaches the table and points out that their opponent is not eligible according to his EWC. What do you do as the official?
A: Listen to what he has to say and call the other coach over to the table to be involved in the conversation. You let them have the discussion and see if they can come to an agreement. If they agree that the wrestler is ineligible based on his EWC, then that wrestler would be disqualified. That would make that wrestler ineligible to compete for the remainder of that dual. If they do not come to an agreement, then you would take the wrestlers to center mat and let them wrestle. The offended coach would file a report to the WIAA on the following day and they would resolve the issue and adjust the team score if necessary.
Comments: If the offended coach does not bring it to your attention until well into the match, you follow the same above guidelines. Continue the match if they do not come to an agreement, or disqualify the offender if they determine he is ineligible. If they bring it to your attention after the dual is completed, let them resolve the issue. If not, they will involve the WIAA the following day. AT NO TIME DOES THE OFFICIAL MAKE A RULING ON EWC BASED ON THE 1.5% WEIGHT LOSS.
Purchase Demo Mats at Reduced Prices