Kaukauna, Ellsworth, Stratford Win State Wrestling Titles



Saturday, March 4, 2017

Kaukauna, Ellsworth, Stratford Win State Wrestling Titles

Kaukauna, Ellsworth and Stratford won titles in their respective divisions at the 2017 State Team Wrestling Tournament at the UW Field House in Madison Saturday.

Kaukauna (22-0) won its fourth consecutive championship in Division 1, defeating Stoughton 35-27 in the final. It’s the third straight season the championship match featured the same two teams with the same results.

Stoughton (25-1) led 21-17 through the first nine bouts starting at 113 pounds as the opening weight. However, the Galloping Ghosts turned the tables by winning the next four matches. The victories included a pin, technical fall, major decision and a decision to give Kaukauna a 35-21 lead to clinch the match heading into the final match.

It is the fourth title overall in 15 appearances in the State team tournament for Kaukauna, and Stoughton finishes runner-up for the 10th time. 

Ellsworth (18-0) retains the title in Division 2, winning its second straight championship with a 27-26 win over Luxemburg-Casco (18-2).

The match remained undecided until the final match of the bout at 106 pounds. Trailing 26-24, Ellsworth’s Charlie Stuhl, the State individual runner-up, won a 7-0 decision over the fourth-place individual finisher to give the Panthers the margin of victory.

It is the Panthers’ eighth championship overall in 16 State Tournament appearances, and Luxemburg-Casco finishes runner-up for the fourth time in its 16 experiences in the team tournament.

Stratford (23-1) swept the final nine bouts of the match to post a convincing 49-13 triumph over Fennimore (23-3) to earn the Division 3 championship.

Fennimore led 13-7 through the first five matches before the Tigers began their impressive string of victories highlighted with pins by Jeremy Schoenherr at 145, David Marquardt at 170, Kamren Bornbach at 220 and Manny Drexler at 106.

After a runner-up finish a year ago, Stratford wins its first team championship in six team tournament appearances. In their third appearance, the Golden Eagles finish runner-up on the heels of winning the title in 2016.

Division 1 Championship: Kaukauna defeated Stoughton 35-27
113 - John Diener (Kaukauna) over Dante Steinmetz (Stoughton) TF 21-6
120 - Tristan Jenny (Stoughton) over Mikael Kolosso (Kaukauna) Dec 20-13
126 - Brandon Micksh (Kaukauna) over Kaleb Louis (Stoughton) Dec 3-1
132 - Brandon Klein (Stoughton) over Jacob Schramm (Kaukauna) DQ 
138 - Trent Leon (Kaukauna) over Luke Spilde (Stoughton) Fall 3:07
145 - Cade Spilde (Stoughton) over Jacob Canner (Kaukauna) Dec 9-7
152 - Garrett Model (Stoughton) over Zach Lee (Kaukauna) SV-1 9-5
160 - Alec Hartman (Kaukauna) over Trevar Helland (Stoughton) Dec 2-1
170 - Tyler Dow (Stoughton) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf 
182 - Bryson Alsteen (Kaukauna) over Will Neuenfeld (Stoughton) Maj 16-6
195 - Jon Heilman (Kaukauna) over Gavin Miller (Stoughton) Dec 9-3
220 - Mason VanAsten (Kaukauna) over Logan Dykstra (Stoughton) TF 16-0
285 - Keaton Kluever (Kaukauna) over Aodan Marshall (Stoughton) Fall 0:52
106 - Hunter Lewis (Stoughton) over Mason Campshure (Kaukauna) Fall 2:48

Division 2 Championship: Ellsworth defeated Luxemburg-Casco 27-26
113 - Bryce Bosman (Luxemburg-Casco) over Matthew Peterson (Ellsworth) Maj 9-0
120 - Sawyer Strom (Ellsworth) over Reece Worachek (Luxemburg-Casco) Dec 11-4
126 - Nathan Ronsman (Luxemburg-Casco) over Owen Matzek (Ellsworth) Dec 6-2
132 - Sam Stuhl (Ellsworth) over Colton Worachek (Luxemburg-Casco) Maj 14-3
138 - Jared Lansing (Ellsworth) over Cameron Lemmens (Luxemburg-Casco) Dec 6-5
145 - Cole Skelton (Ellsworth) over Garrett Jeanquart (Luxemburg-Casco) Maj 12-4
152 - Devan Vandenbush (Luxemburg-Casco) over Logan Melstrom (Ellsworth) Maj 9-0
160 - Anders Lantz (Ellsworth) over Jacob Zellner (Luxemburg-Casco) Maj 13-4
170 - Dalton Smerchek (Luxemburg-Casco) over Dalton George (Ellsworth) Fall 3:25
182 - Jacob Sigler (Ellsworth) over Austin Leroy (Luxemburg-Casco) Fall 1:52
195 - Kyle Routhieaux (Luxemburg-Casco) over Cole Toenjes (Ellsworth) Dec 9-4
220 - Nate Lloyd (Luxemburg-Casco) over Caleb Linder (Ellsworth) SV-1 3-1
285 - Phil Rasmussen (Luxemburg-Casco) over Mike Freund (Ellsworth) Dec 6-3
106 - Charlie Stuhl (Ellsworth) over Lucas Joniaux (Luxemburg-Casco) Dec 7-0

Division 3 Championship: Stratford defeated Fennimore 49-13
113 - Alex Birchman (Fennimore) over Mavrick Licciardi (Stratford) Maj 11-2
120 - A. J. Schoenfuss (Stratford) over Aidan Nutter (Fennimore) Maj 13-0
126 - Trevor Wanek (Fennimore) over Derek Marten (Stratford) Dec 5-1
132 - Jake Drexler (Stratford) over Maguire Fitzgerald (Fennimore) SV-1 10-8
138 - Justin Tollefson (Fennimore) over Dilan Dehlinger (Stratford) Fall 4:50
145 - Jeremy Schoenherr (Stratford) over Hunter Wardell (Fennimore) Fall 4:58
152 - Mason Kauffman (Stratford) over Tyler Klaas (Fennimore) TF 17-2
160 - Kade Ehrike (Stratford) over Will Ahnen (Fennimore) Dec 6-5
170 - David Marquardt (Stratford) over Conner Blaschke (Fennimore) Fall 3:36
182 - Dylan Schoenherr (Stratford) over Tavian Kaschub (Fennimore) Maj 10-1
195 - Aiden Hoffman (Stratford) over Cody McCollough (Fennimore) Dec 7-4
220 - Kamren Bornbach (Stratford) over Dylan Kehoe (Fennimore) Fall 1:40
285 - Tyson Kauffman (Stratford) over Deven O`Brien (Fennimore) Dec 3-0
106 - Manny Drexler (Stratford) over Mason Lull (Fennimore) Fall 2:40


Theme picker