Monona Grove Wins Second Straight Div. 2 Boys Swimming & Diving Title



Friday, February 19, 2016

Monona Grove Wins Second Straight Div. 2 Boys Swimming & Diving Title

Monona Grove won its second straight Division 2 title at the 92nd Annual State Boys Swimming and Diving Championships Friday at the UW Natatorium in Madison, Wis.

The Silver Eagles compiled 296 points and won five events en route to their third State championship. Shorewood finished second with 251 points, and McFarland was third with 216 points.

Ben McDade of Monona Grove was a four-time champion in the meet. He repeated as the champion in both the 200- and 500-yard freestyles with winning times of 1:40.61 and 4:30.12, respectively. His victory in the 500 set a Division 2 meet record, and his finish in the 200 ranks as the second-fastest winning time in meet history.

He proceeded to set a record in the meet’s next event as the final leg of the 200 freestyle relay. McDade combined with Erik Doll, Connor Keith and Shane Sackett to post a time of 1:25.80. Eric Storms won the 100 backstroke in 51.03, and then teamed with McDade, Dall and Vincent Giallombardo to capture victory in the 400 freestyle relay with a time of 3:11.12.

Noah Larson of Baraboo won a pair of gold medals. He captured the 50 freestyle title with a time of 20.78 and later added the 100 freestyle championship, finishing with a time of 46.72, which was just .01 swifter than Will Hobbs of Cedarburg.

Sean O’Connor of Grafton finished just ahead of the defending champion Michael Perry of Shorewood in the 100 butterfly with a time of 50.72.  O’Connor was also a champion as a member of the Grafton 200 medley relay. He teamed with Bailey Bodart, Jack Senczyszyn and Adam Schacht to win the event with a time of 1:35.42, which is the second-fastest winning time in meet history.

Defending champion Benny Liang of Whitewater succeeded in his quest for a second straight title in the 100 breaststroke. He won the event in a time of 58.64.

Jared Nickodem of Cedarburg swam to the title in the 200 individual medley with a time of 1:55.25 after finishing eighth in Division 1 in 2015.

Jeremy Moser of Nicolet won the diving championship with a score of 573.90 after placing third last season. Henry Carson of Monona Grove finished runner-up for the second straight season, scoring 571.25 in the finals.

The Division 1 State Championships will begin with the diving competition at 10 a.m. Saturday. The swimming finals are scheduled to follow at 3 p.m.

Division 2 State Meet Results


Theme picker