McFarland Wins Div. 2 Boys Swimming & Diving Title; Sullivan & TeBeests Dazzle


McFarland Wins Div. 2 Boys Swimming & Diving Title; Sullivan & TeBeests Dazzle

Friday, February 16, 2024

McFarland Wins Div. 2 Boys Swimming & Diving Title; Sullivan & TeBeests Dazzle

WAUKESHA, Wis. – McFarland won the Division 2 team title at the 2024 Boys Swimming & Diving Championships at the Waukesha South High School Natatorium Friday.

The Spartans won their seventh boys swimming and diving team championship in program history. They earned the crown by compiling 325 points. They won seven events, including four individual events and three relays. Rhinelander was runner-up with 243 points, and Whitefish Bay was third with 222 points.

Jack Sullivan of Nicolet raced into the history books by winning two events in record fashion. He became the eighth swimmer in State Championships history to win four titles in an event. Sullivan captured his fourth crown in the 200-yard freestyle with a time of 1:37.80, which set a Division 2 record. In addition, he set the Division 2 record in winning his second consecutive 100 freestyle title, earning the championship in a time of 44.57. He also possesses a silver medal in 100 freestyle with a runner-up finish in 2022.

The three TeBeest brothers led the Spartans to the team title. Blake and Cale TeBeest were both four-time champions as freshmen. They each won two individual championships and two relay titles. Blake won the 200 individual medley in a time of 1:52.88 and the 100 backstroke in a time of 49.00, which ranks as third-swiftest in the history of the Division 2 State Championships. Cale swam to the individual championships in the 50 free in a time of 20.94 and the 100 butterfly with a time of 50.23. Shane TeBeest finished second behind his brother in each of those events.

Cale TeBeest and teammates Preston Nygaard, Luke Morrison and Lyon Hall raced to the Division 2 record in the 200 freestyle relay with a time of 1:25.18. In addition, Blake and Shane TeBeest joined Preston Nygaard and Luke Morrison to win the 200 medley in a time of 1:33.60. Finally, all three TeBeests and Hall contributed to a Division 2 record-shattering performance in the 400 freestyle relay with a time 3:02.50, which is more than five seconds faster than the previous record of 3:07.84 set by McFarland in 2009.

Julian Callender of Stoughton was a repeat champion in the 100 breaststroke. His winning time of 56.91 is the seventh-fastest Division 2 time recorded in the event. In addition to his two titles, he placed fifth in 2022.

Whitefish Bay won a pair of events. Finn Holdredge was the champion in the 500 freestyle after finishing runner-up last season and fifth in 2022. He completed the event with a time of 4:31.42. Tyler Emory won the diving competition with a score of 374.40 after finishing third last season as a freshman.

The 2024 State Boys Swimming & Diving Championships continue Saturday with the Division 1 competition. The preliminary round in diving begins at 9:30 a.m. with swimming events to begin at 2:30 p.m.

Division 2 Complete Results

# WIAA #





Theme picker