Edgewood Repeats as Div. 2 Boys Swimming & Diving Champion


Edgewood Repeats as Div. 2 Boys Swimming & Diving Champion

Friday, February 21, 2020

Edgewood Repeats as Div. 2 Boys Swimming & Diving Champion

MADISON, Wis. – Edgewood won the Division 2 title for the second straight year and three event records were set or tied at the 96th Annual State Boys Swimming and Diving Championships Friday at the UW Natatorium.

The Crusaders were frequent visitors to the award stand in compiling 293 points and winning a meet-leading six events, including two relays en route to the program’s third State team championship. Cedarburg finished second with 265 points, and Elkhorn placed for third with 169 points.

Truman teDuits won four events to lead the Crusaders, and he became just the fourth swimmer in State Championships history to win four different individual events during his career. He tied the Division 2 State Meet record  by winning the 100-yard butterfly with a time of 49.52. He equals the time swam by Ryan O'Donnell of McFarland in 2011. In addition, his time of 1:50.03 won the 200 individual medley for the second consecutive year to go with his runner-up finish in 2018 and fourth-place finish in 2017.

teDuits was also a member of the Crusaders’ 200 medley relay that won the title for the second year in a row. He and teammates Alex Moen, Colin Senke and Chase Korth finished in a Division 2 State Meet record time of 1:33.77. The former record of 1:33.81 was held by McFarland since 2012.  In addition, teDuits joined Frucht, Senke and Moen to give the Crusaders back-to-back gold medals in the 400 freestyle relay with a time of 3:08.79.

Edgewood’s Ben Stitgen won his third straight championship in the diving competition with a score of 483.70, and teammate Nate Frucht swam to his second straight title in the 200 freestyle with a time of 1:41.30.

Aidan Lohr of Baraboo won a pair of events. He won the 100 backstroke in a State Meet record time of 48.05 after finishing second in the event last season, third in 2018 and ninth in 2017. Lohr broke the Division 2 mark of 48.35 that O'Donnell set in 2012, and he bested the meet record of 48.09 established by Wes Jeckel of Madison West last season. Lohr also won the 100 freestyle in a time of 45.67.

Travis Phillips of Tomahawk swam to the championship in the 50 freestyle with a time of 21.35 after placing fourth in the event a year ago, and Isaac Fleig of Cedarburg had an impressive debut in the State Meet. The freshman swam to the title in the 500 freestyle with a time of 4:39.24 and finished runner-up in the 200 individual medley.

Ben Ramminger of DeForest was victorious in the 100 breaststroke with a time of 56.55, and the top-seeded Elkhorn 200 freestyle squad of Lucas Koepke, Danny Bush, Hunter Johnson and Willy Pinnow won the event in a time of 1:26.16.

The Division 1 State Championships will begin with the diving competition at 10 a.m. Saturday. The swimming finals are scheduled to follow at 3 p.m.

Division 2 State Meet Results




Theme picker