State Boys Tennis Team Tournament Preview



Monday, June 8, 2015

State Boys Tennis Team Tournament Preview

THE MEET:  The 21st Annual Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association Boys Team Tennis Championships will be held Friday and Saturday, June 12-13. The meet takes place at the Nielsen Tennis Stadium on the University of Wisconsin campus in Madison, Wis. Action will begin at 5:30 p.m. Friday and will resume at 9 a.m. Saturday. Ticket prices are $6 per session.


Division 1 - Quarterfinals (5:30 p.m. June 12)
Match-1:  Neenah (10-1) vs. Marquette (23-2)
Match-2:  Eau Claire Memorial (18-4) vs. Brookfield East (15-0)
Match-3:  Ashwaubenon (14-3) vs. Kettle Moraine (19-2)   
Match-4:  Middleton (14-10) vs. Madison West (11-9)

Division 1 - Semifinals (9 a.m. June 13)
Match-5:  Winner of Match 1 vs. Winner of Match 2
Match-6:  Winner of Match 3 vs. Winner of Match 4

Division 1 - Championship (2 p.m. June 13)
Match-7:  Winner of Match 5 vs. Winner of Match 6


Division 2 - Semifinals (9 a.m. June 13)
Match-1:  Regis (17-3) vs. University School (2-4)
Match-2:  Notre Dame (17-8) vs. Edgewood (20-1)

Division 2 - Championship (2 p.m. June 13)
Match-3:  Winner of Match 1 vs. Winner of Match 2

LAST YEAR:  Brookfield East snapped a seven-year run of titles by Marquette by winning the Division 1 team competition with a 6-1 victory over Eau Claire Memorial in the championship match. In Division 2, University School won its eighth title in the last nine seasons by defeating Edgewood 7-0 in the championship match.

THE HISTORY OF THE CHAMPIONSHIPS:  The WIAA has sponsored a team championship in boys tennis since 1995. Team champions prior to that time were determined by points scored by individuals. Nicolet had dominated the Division 1 competition for years, winning a membership-leading 26 championships, including six (1997-99, 2004-06) since the advent of the two-division team tournament. Eight of the Knights championships came consecutively from 1967-74. Neenah is a distant second with 10 team titles. Marquette  and University School have nine titles. Seven of Marquette’s titles came consecutively from 2007-13,  and six of University School’s titles came consecutively from 2006-11. Manitowoc and Whitefish Bay are next in line with six titles. Since the dual match format was adopted, Eau Claire Memorial has made the most State appearances with 17. Brookfield Central and Neenah have 13 appearances, with Edgewood, Homestead, Marquette and University School having qualified 11 times. 

DIVISION 1 NOTES:   Brookfield East is making its fifth consecutive appearance and its seventh overall. Prior to last year’s title, the furthest advance by the Spartans was to the semifinals in both 2012 and 2013. Last year’s runner-up Eau Claire Memorial makes its membership-leading 18th appearance at State and its 14th in the last 15 years. The Old Abes’ furthest advance in the tournament prior to last season had been to the semifinals on seven different occasions. Marquette is making its ninth straight appearance and its 12th overall. The Hilltoppers have won the team championship seven of the last eight years and have won nine titles overall. They produced State titles in 2002, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013, as well as a runner-up finish in 2004. Last year’s runner-up Neenah makes its third straight State appearance and its 14th overall. The Rockets had a string of eight consecutive appearances from 2000-2007. They own a string of five straight championships from 1991-1995 and 10 overall titles. The Rockets also have six runner-up finishes. Middleton is making its second consecutive appearance at State and its 10th overall. The Cardinals have finished runner-up on three occasions. Those coming in 2000, 2007 and 2009.  Madison West is making its fourth overall appearance in the team tournament and the second in the last three seasons, also qualifying in 2013. The Regents fell in the quarterfinals in their first-ever appearance in 2006 and again in 2013, and lost in the semifinals in 2008. The only other State Team Tournament appearance for Kettle Moraine came back in 1999. The experience resulted in a loss in the quarterfinals. Ashwaubenon will be making its first-ever appearance in the State Team Tournament.

DIVISION 2 NOTES:  The same four teams that competed in the tournament the past two seasons are back again this year. Two-time defending champion University School has qualified for the 12th time in the last 13 years, only failing to qualify in 2005 during that span. The Wildcats have won nine State titles overall. Six of those came in succession from 2006-11. In addition to that run, they won their first title in 2004, and have back-to-back titles the last two years. They have finished runner-up on two occasions, in 2003 and again in 2012. Last year’s runner-up Edgewood qualifies for the State Team Tournament for the 12th straight year, which also accounts for its overall total. The Crusaders’ have finished second five other times, including 2004, 2006, 2007, 2009 and 2011. Notre Dame returns to State for the seventh time overall and for the sixth consecutive year. The Tritons’ captured the gold trophy in 2012 and have finished runner-up in three of their prior appearances, in 2005,  2010 and 2013. Regis will be making its third straight appearance at State and its fifth overall. The Ramblers are attempting to advance beyond the semifinals for the first time.

INDIVIDUAL HONORS:  Sophomore Jake Van Emburgh of Middleton won the Division 1 singles title by defeating top-seeded David Horneffer of Brookfield East 7-5, 6-1 in the championship match. The top-seeded tandem of senior Kyran Young and junior Nick Kallman of Marquette won the Division 1 doubles title. They defeated defending champions Henry Termuehlen and Patrick Krill of Brookfield East in the championship match 6-2, 6-4. Top-seeded Kai Sane, a sophomore from University School, won the Division 2 singles championship with his  6-7(8), 0-1 (retired) victory over freshman Juan Perez of The Prairie School in the final. Senior Andrew Buchanan and junior Zach Schneck of University School captured the Division 2 doubles crown by defeating Tommy Matoska and Christian Erickson of Catholic Memorial by scores of 6-3, 6-7(1), 6-4.

NEED RESULTS & INFORMATION?:  Results will be available on the Tennis Results page of the WIAA website at Check out the results of State Individual Championships played June 4-6 on the tennis results page as well.

FOLLOW THE TOURNEY ON TWITTER:  Receive the updates of the Boys State Tennis Tournaments on the WIAA State Tournament Twitter account @wiaawistate with the hashtag #wiaatennis.

WILSON IS OFFICIAL BALL OF THE WIAA:  Wilson is the official ball and tennis supplier of the WIAA boys and girls Sectional and State Tennis Tournaments through the 2018 seasons.


Theme picker