State Boys Team Tennis Tournament Preview



Tuesday, June 5, 2018

State Boys Team Tennis Tournament Preview

THE MEET:  The 24th Annual Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association Boys Team Tennis Tournament will be held Friday and Saturday, June 8-9. The meet takes place at the Nielsen Tennis Stadium on the University of Wisconsin campus in Madison, Wis. Action will begin at 5:30 p.m. Friday and will resume at 9 a.m. Saturday. Ticket prices are $6 per session.


Division 1 - Quarterfinals (5:30 p.m. June 8)
Match-1:  #1 Marquette (20-2) vs. Badger (12-3)
Match-2:  #4 Verona (19-3) vs. Green Bay Southwest (27-2)
Match-3:  #3 Arrowhead (22-4) vs. Eau Claire Memorial 19-7)
Match-4:  #2 Brookfield East (18-4) vs. Oshkosh West (16-7)

Division 1 - Semifinals (9 a.m. June 9)
Match-5:  Winner of Match 1 vs. Winner of Match 2
Match-6:  Winner of Match 3 vs. Winner of Match 4

Division 1 - Championship (2 p.m. June 9)
Match-7:  Winner of Match 5 vs. Winner of Match 6


Division 2 - Semifinals (9 a.m. June 9)
Match-1:  #1 University School (10-7) vs. McFarland (11-0) 
Match-2:  #2 Edgewood (12-4) vs. Kohler (19-2) 

Division 2 - Championship (2 p.m. June 9)
Match-3:  Winner of Match 1 vs. Winner of Match 2

LAST YEAR:  Marquette won its 10th title in the last 11 years in Division 1 with a 5-2 victory over Neenah in the championship match. In Division 2, The Prairie School  won the team title with a 6-1 victory over Edgewood in the championship match.

THE HISTORY OF THE CHAMPIONSHIPS:  The WIAA has sponsored a team championship in boys tennis since 1995. Points scored by individuals determined team champions prior to that time. Nicolet had dominated the Division 1 competition for years, winning a membership-leading 26 championships, including six (1997-99, 2004-06) since the advent of the two-division team tournament. Eight of the Knights’ championships came consecutively from 1967-74. Marquette is a distant second in the number of titles with 12. Seven of Marquette’s titles came consecutively from 2007-13. Neenah and University School are a third on the list of champions with 10 team titles. Six of University School’s titles came consecutively from 2006-11. Manitowoc and Whitefish Bay are next in line with six titles. Since the dual match format was adopted, Eau Claire Memorial has made the most State appearances, now with 21. Neenah is next with 16, and Edgewood and Marquette have qualified 15 times. 

DIVISION 1 NOTES:  Three-time defending champion Marquette is making its 12th straight appearance and its 15th overall. The Hilltoppers, the top seed in the bracket,  have won the team championship in 10 of the last 11 years and have won 12 titles overall. They produced State titles in 2002, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016 and 2017, as well as a runner-up finish in 2004. Second-seeded Brookfield East is making its eighth appearance in the State team tournament and the first since a run of five consecutive appearances ended in 2015. The Spartans won their only team title in 2014. Arrowhead is the third seed. The Warhawks return to State for the sixth time and for the second straight season. They are in pursuit of their first title. They advanced to the semifinals for the first and only time in 2013, which represents their furthest advance in the tournament. Verona is making its fifth overall appearance and its second in the past three seasons. The Wildcats had a streak of three straight State experiences from 2002-04.  Their furthest advance was to the semifinals in 2003. Eau Claire Memorial makes its membership-leading 21st appearance at State and its 17th in the last 18 years. The Old Abes’ furthest advance in the tournament was to the title match in 2014 when they finished runner-up. Green Bay Southwest is back in the team tournament for the second consecutive season and for the seventh time overall. The furthest advance at State for the Fighting Trojans was to the semifinals in 1999. Oshkosh West is making its second State appearance. The Wildcats fell in the quarterfinals in their only other experience in 1999. Badger is making its second appearance in the State team tournament. The Badgers fell in the quarterfinals in their only experience in 1991.

DIVISION 2 NOTES:  Top-seeded University School has qualified for the 14th time in the last 16 years, only failing to qualify in 2005 and in 2017 during  that span. The Wildcats have won 10 State titles overall. Six of those came in succession from 2006-11 and three more from 2013-15. In addition to those runs, they won their first title in 2004. They have finished runner-up on two other occasions, in 2003 and again in 2012. Last year’s runner-up and second-seeded Edgewood returns to the State team tournament for the 15th straight year, which also accounts for the Crusaders’ overall total of appearances. They won their lone team title in 2016. The Crusaders have finished runner-up eight times, including 2004, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2011, 2014, 2015 and 2017. Kohler returns to the final field of four for the second time in the past three seasons and for the third time overall. Their previous two experiences in the tournament have resulted in losses in the semifinals. McFarland qualifies for the second time. The Spartans only other experience came in 2002 with a loss in the semifinals.

INDIVIDUAL HONORS:  Second-seeded Colt Tegtmeier of Madison Memorial won the Division 1 singles championship with a 6-3, 1-6, 6-4 victory over fifth-seeded Neel Raut of Oshkosh West. In doubles action, the third-seeded tandem of Noah Guillermo and Rob May of Marquette defeated fourth-seeded Ridley Aranda and Eli Winter of Nicolet 6-3, 6-2 to win the Division 1 doubles championship. In Division 2, second-seeded Pablo Dale of Brookfield Academy scored a 3-6, 7-5, 6-4 win over two-time defending champion and top-seeded Casey Johnson of Kohler to win the singles title. In doubles play, the third-seeded combo of Liam and Tayte Matthews captured the Division 2 doubles crown. They defeated the top-seeded tandem of David Horak and Konnor Barth of Xavier 6-0, 6-0 to earn the title.

NEED RESULTS & INFORMATION?:  Rosters and records of teams in the State tournament are available on the Media Center of the WIAA website. Results will be available on the Tennis Results page of the WIAA website at Check out the results of State Individual Championships played June 2-4 on the tennis results page as well.

FOLLOW THE TOURNEY ON SOCIAL MEDIA:  Receive updates of the State Boys Team Tennis Tournament on the WIAA State Tournament Twitter account @wiaawistate with the hashtag #wiaatennis. Also like us on Facebook,  follow us on Instagram at wiaawi, and add us on Snapchat at wiaawis.

WILSON IS OFFICIAL BALL OF THE WIAA:  Wilson is the official ball and tennis supplier of the WIAA boys and girls Sectional and State Tennis Tournaments through the 2018 seasons.


Theme picker