State Boys Team Tennis Preview



Monday, June 3, 2013

State Boys Team Tennis Preview

THE MEET:  The 19th Annual Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association Boys Team Tennis Championships will be held Friday and Saturday, June 7-8. The meet takes place at the Nielsen Tennis Stadium on the University of Wisconsin campus in Madison, Wis. Action will begin at 5:30 p.m. Friday and will resume at 9 a.m. Saturday. Ticket prices are $6 per session.


Division 1 - Quarterfinals (5:30 p.m. June 7)
Match-1:  Arrowhead (13-5) vs. Waukesha West (15-8)
Match-2:  Neenah (9-0) vs. Madison West (15-4)
Match-3:  Wausau East (14-3) vs. Brookfield East (12-2)
Match-4:  Eau Claire Memorial (13-5) vs. Marquette (21-2)

Division 1 - Semifinals (9 a.m. June 8)
Match-5:  Winner of Match 1 vs. Winner of Match 2
Match-6:  Winner of Match 3 vs. Winner of Match 4

Division 1 - Championship (2 p.m. June 8)
Match-7:  Winner of Match 5 vs. Winner of Match 6


Division 2 - Semifinals (9 a.m. June 8)
Match-1:  Regis (12-1) vs. Notre Dame (12-0)  
Match-2:  Edgewood (11-3) vs. University School of Milw.  (5-1)

Division 2 - Championship (2 p.m. June 8)
Match-3:  Winner of Match 1 vs. Winner of Match 2

LAST YEAR:  Marquette continued its dominance in the Division 1 team competition by winning its sixth straight crown by posting a 5-2 win over Homestead in the championship match. In Division 2, Notre Dame snapped a six-year run of titles by University School by defeating the Wildcats 4-3 in the championship match.

THE HISTORY OF THE CHAMPIONSHIPS:  The WIAA has sponsored a team championship in boys tennis since 1995. Team champions prior to that time were determined by points scored by individuals. Nicolet had dominated the Division 1 competition for years, winning a membership-leading 26 championships, including six (1997-99, 2004-06) since the advent of the two-division team tournament. Eight of the Knights championships came consecutively from 1967-74. Neenah is a distant second with 10 team titles. Marquette has eight titles, and six of University School’s seven titles came consecutively from 2006-11. Manitowoc and Whitefish Bay are next in line with six titles. Since the dual match format was adopted, Eau Claire Memorial has made the most State appearances, now with 16. Brookfield Central has made 13 appearances, and Neenah now has 12 with Homestead having qualified 11 times. 

DIVISION 1 NOTES:   Six-time defending champion Marquette is making its seventh straight appearance and its 10th overall. In previous trips, the Hilltoppers produced State titles in 2002, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, as well as a runner-up finish in 2004. Eau Claire Memorial makes its membership-leading 16th appearance at State and its 12th in the last 13 years. The Old Abes’ furthest advance in the tournament has been to the semifinals seven times. Neenah makes its 12th overall appearance and its first since a string of eight in a row ended in 2007. The Rockets own a string of five consecutive championships from 1991-1995 and 10 overall titles. They also have five runner-up finishes. Brookfield East is making its third consecutive appearance and its fifth overall. The Spartans advanced to the semifinals for first time last year before being ousted from title contention. Arrowhead returns to State for the fourth time and for the first time since 2005. The Warhawks are in pursuit of their first journey beyond the quarterfinals, with losses in their quarterfinal matches in each of their three previous appearances. Waukesha West qualifies for the State Team Tournament for the third time and for the second season in a row. Its only other appearance came in 1997. The Wolverines are looking to advance past the quarterfinals for the first time. Madison West is making its third overall appearance in the team tournament and the first since 2008. The Regents fell in the quarterfinals in their first-ever appearance in 2006 and lost in the semifinals in 2008. Wausau East is making its second appearance in the State Team Tournament. The previous experience came in 1995 when the Lumberjacks advanced to the semifinals before falling out of title contention. 

DIVISION 2 NOTES:  Defending champion Notre Dame is back in the State Team Tournament for the fifth time overall and for the fourth consecutive year. The Tritons’ have finished runner-up in two of their prior appearances, in 2005 and 2010. Last year’s runner-up University School has qualified for the 10th time in the last 11 years, only failing to qualify in 2005 during that span. The Wildcats have won seven State titles overall. Six of those came in succession from 2006-11. In addition to that run, they won their first title in 2004. They have finished runner-up on two occasions, in 2003 and again last year. Edgewood qualifies for the State Team Tournament for the 10th straight year, which also accounts for its overall tally. The Crusaders’ best outcomes have been five runner-up finishes including 2004, 2006, 2007, 2009 and 2011. Regis will be making its third appearance in the State Team Tournament and its first since 2010. The Ramblers fell in the semifinals in that most recent appearance and in their first-ever experience at State in 2006.

INDIVIDUAL HONORS:  Felix Corwin of Brookfield East won the Division 1 singles title by defeating two-time defending champion Damon Niquet of Marquette 7-6(2), 5-7, 6-1. In doubles play, CJ Armbrust and Jed Sekaran of Marquette defeated teammates Greg Raster and Austin Budiono 6-1, 6-4 to win the Division 1 doubles competition. Zane Navratil of The Prairie School defeated Tyler Lewis of Kohler in the title match 6-1, 6-3 to win the Division 2 singles crown. The duo of Nick DelMoral and Mark Cullen of Notre Dame won the Division 2 doubles championship with a 7-5, 6-3 victory over Matt and Mike Mirsberger of Catholic Memorial in the final.

NEED RESULTS & INFORMATION?:  Rosters and records of teams in the State tournament are available on the Media Center of the WIAA website. Results will be available on the Tennis Results page of the WIAA website at Check out the results of State Individual Championships played May 30-June 1 on the tennis results page as well.

FOLLOW THE TOURNEY ON TWITTER: Receive the updates of the Boys State Tennis Tournaments on the WIAA State Tournament Twitter account @wiaawistate with the hashtag #wiaatennis.

WILSON IS OFFICIAL BALL OF THE WIAA:  Wilson is the official ball and tennis supplier of the WIAA boys and girls Sectional and State Tennis Tournaments.


Theme picker