Spring/Summer Sportsmanship Award Recipients Selected



Thursday, August 2, 2012

Spring/Summer Sportsmanship Award Recipients Selected

The Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association, in cooperation with Rural Mutual Insurance Company, has selected the team Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2012 Spring and Summer State Team Championships.

The winners of the prestigious award are Notre Dame in boys tennis, Tigerton in softball, Greenwood in spring baseball, the Lake Country Lutheran and University Lake School co-op in girls soccer and Sheboygan Falls in summer baseball.

It is the first time Notre Dame has been named the recipient of the Sportsmanship Award in boys tennis, and it is the sixth time the school has received the award across all sports, including in girls basketball this past winter. In addition, the girls soccer team won the award in 2002 and 2011; the boys soccer program was the recipient in 2007; and the girls tennis program was honored in 2008. The Tritons won the championship in Division 2 this season following a 4-3 victory over University School in the State Boys Team Tennis championship match. They advanced to the title match via a 6-1 win over Edgewood in the semifinal. Homestead and Kenosha Tremper received honorable mention for the award.

Tigerton was bestowed the honor in softball for its efforts to preserve the ideals of sportsmanship en route to a runner-up finish in Division 4 at the State Softball Tournament. The Tigers shutout Thorp 2-0 in the semifinal before dropping a 5-4 decision to Oakfield in the championship game. It is their second Sportsmanship Award in the sport and second overall. The first came in 2010. Schools receiving honorable mention were Appleton East, De Soto, Germantown, Pacelli, Plymouth, Thorp and West De Pere.

Greenwood was selected as winner of the award in spring baseball, which marks the first time the school has receive the Sportsmanship Award. The Indians lost their first and only game of the season to Johnson Creek in the Division 4 semifinals by the score of 8-5. Coleman, Fox Valley Lutheran and Pittsville each received honorable mention.

The co-op of Lake Country Lutheran and University Lake School receives the Sportsmanship Award for the first time. The girls soccer program and its fans demonstrated outstanding sportsmanship with enthusiastic and positive cheers. The Lightning won the Division 3 championship with a 3-1 win over The Prairie School in the title game after downing St. Mary Central in the semifinals, 3-2 in overtime. Honorable mention for the award was extended to Catholic Memorial, Divine Savior Holy Angels, Notre Dame, Oostburg, St. Mary Central, The Prairie School, Waukesha West and Xavier.

Sheboygan Falls was selected as the winner of the award for the first time in summer baseball after receiving honorable mention at the State Tournament last year. It’s the second Sportsmanship Award for the Falcons overall.  They received the honor in boys team tennis in 1996. Last week, they lost their semifinal to eventual champion Oak Creek, 10-0 in five innings. Germantown, Oak Creek and Waukesha West received honorable mention.

The WIAA/Rural Mutual Insurance Sportsmanship Award is presented to one school and community in each of the State team tournaments. The award winners are determined by the conduct and sportsmanship displayed by athletes, coaches, cheer and support groups, mascots, bands and spectators. Additional consideration is given for the effort of school administrators and chaperones to insure support for their teams are positive and that the highest ideals of sportsmanship are upheld. Award winners receive a plaque and banner in recognition of the honor. Schools receiving honorable mention are acknowledged with a certificate of recognition.

The selection process includes contributions and evaluations from contest officials, tournament management, police and security personnel, crowd control and ushers, WIAA staff members, area hotels and restaurants.


Theme picker