Krill, Johnson Win Singles Titles; Budiono/Massart and Tan/Matthews Win Doubles Gold



Sunday, June 4, 2017

Krill, Johnson Win Singles Titles; Budiono/Massart and Tan/Matthews Win Doubles Gold

The 95th Annual Boys Individual Tennis Tournament produced a pair of single champions and two doubles team champions Saturday at Nielsen Tennis Stadium in Madison, Wis.

Top-seeded Robert Krill of Brookfield East won the Division 1 singles title with a 6-0, 4-6, 6-1 victory over Colt Tegtmeier of Madison Memorial, who entered the tournament as the #2 seed. 

Krill wins his first singles title after finishing runner-up a year ago, fourth in 2015 and fifth in 2014. 

Neel Raut of Oshkosh West finished third with a 3-6, 6-4, 6-2 win over Will Tennison of Verona in the third-place match. Alex Alt of Kimberly defeated Jaden Aranda of Nicolet 7-5, 7-6 (7) to finish fifth.

The top-seeded duo of Ethan Budiono and John Massart of Marquette won the Division 1 doubles championship with a 6-2, 6-1 victory over the second-seeded tandem of Jack Steinberger and Eli Winter from Nicolet.

Grant Mauthe and Carter Brown of Neenah finished third with a 6-4, 6-1 win over Zach Wolfe and Sam Rechek of Eau Claire Memorial. The doubles team of Caleb Schifano and Noah Guillermo of Marquette placed fifth with a 7-6 (3), 6-3 win over Ridley Aranda and Ari Robinson of Nicolet in the fifth-place match.
In Division 2, top-seeded Casey Johnson of Kohler remained undefeated at 21-0 to win his second consecutive State singles title. He defeated Juan Perez of The Prairie School 3-6, 7-5, 2-0 in the championship match to claim the title. Perez has now finished in second place three years in a row after placing third as a freshman in 2014.

Pablo Dale of Brookfield Academy defeated George Wong of Dominican in the third-place match 4-6, 6-1, 6-1, and Cecil Lindgard of Edgewood downed Jon Sadowski of New Berlin West 6-1, 6-3 in the fifth-place match. It’s the second consecutive season Lindgard has finished fifth after placing sixth in 2015.

Jason Tan and Liam Matthews of Brookfield Academy are the doubles champions in Division 2. The #1-seeded tandem recorded a 6-1, 6-1 triumph over the second-seeded team of Andrew Diedrich and Mitchell Teuteberg from Catholic Memorial in the championship match.

Peter Lamberton and Jacob Ruud of The Prairie School finished third with a 6-2, 7-6 (5) win over James Ewing and JJ Nelson of Shorewood, and the duo of David Horak and Konnor Barth of Xavier defeated Cal Papineau and Jack Schill of Shorewood 6-1, 6-3 in the fifth-place match.

The State Team Tennis Tournament runs June 9-10 at the Nielsen Tennis Stadium.


Theme picker