Hit by Pitch
Menu

Boys Lacrosse

Text

Lacrosse News

Tuesday, May 27, 2014

Hit by Pitch

 

 

Q:  Batter in the batters box, allows a very SLOW curve ball to hit him. Batter makes NO attempt to get out of the way. The pitch was inside the actual batters box. (I could have avoided the pitch). My partner, who was working the plate, ruled the pitch a BALL and made the batter stay at bat.

Coach of the team came out and said "I emailed the WIAA and they said we do not need to move if the pitch is in the batters box". I was on the bases, and the first base coach said to me "We teach our kids to not move." Obviously rather intrigued by that response, I am sending this email to you asking for your clarification. My partner and I had discussions after the game on this, and we both agreed that the kid have EASILY gotten out of the way. It would have been different if the pitch had some "heat" to it, but this was not even remotely close to anything with "heat".

 

 

Just was curious to your opinion on this one. Obviously if the batter was leaning over the plate and let it hit him, it is a judgement to whether it is a ball or strike, but if the batter is clearly entirely in the box, does he have to "make an attempt" to avoid a pitch.

 A:  I do not recall a conversation or email where I would have told anyone that all hit batters get a base when hit by a pitch whether in the batter's box or not. Obviously, this is  a judgment situation.  If the batter cannot get out of the way, he gets the base.  However, if in the judgment of the umpire, the batter had an opportunity and awareness to get out of the way, he should attempt to do so.  If not, it is a ball (or strike) and no base is awarded. The following in the "Rules by Topic" book:

Batting Violations
Allowing Pitch to Hit Him
A batter shall not permit a pitched ball to touch him.  The batter remains at bat (pitch is a ball or strike) unless pitch was third strike or ball four (7-3-4).

Allowing a Pitch to Hit Him:  Caseplays
7.3.4 Situation C:  B1 is at bat with a three-ball, no strike count.  The batter rolls his elbow into the strike zone and 1) the pitch hits B1 in the shoulder and would have been a ball; or b) the pitch hits the batter in the elbow and was in the strike zone.  In both cases, the batter made no other movement.  RULING: in a) B1 is awarded first base as it was ball four, and in b) B1 is charged with a strike.

7.3.4 Situation D:  B1 is at bat, with a two-ball, no strike count.  Th batter is fooled by the pitch and freezes in the box.  The pitch hits B1 in the should.  The batter made no other movement.  RULING:  B1 is awarded first base.

Both situations are in the casebook on page 61.

Print

Theme picker