State Boys Golf Tournament Preview

Boys Golf


Boys Golf News

Thursday, May 30, 2013

State Boys Golf Tournament Preview

THE MEET: The 88th Annual Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association Boys Golf Championships will be held Monday and Tuesday, June 3-4, at the University Ridge Golf Course in Madison, Wis. Competition will begin at 7 a.m. on both days. Practice rounds Sunday begin at 7 a.m. Tee time assignments for Sunday practice and for Monday's play are posted on the boys golf page of the WIAA website. 

THE FORMAT:  The competition features 16 teams and 24 individual qualifiers in Division 1, and eight teams and 12 individuals in Divisions 2 and 3. Weather permitting, all competitors will play 36 holes, including 18 holes on each day. The lowest scores from the first day will have the later tee times Tuesday. 

THE FIELD:  In Division 1, the field consists of the top two teams from each of the eight sectionals. In Divisions 2 and 3, the top two teams from each of the four sectionals qualify. The top three individuals, who are not members of a qualifying team in each sectional, also qualify for the meet. 

ON THE AIR:  A 60-minute highlight program of the 2013 Boys State Golf Championship Tournament is scheduled to air on FS Wisconsin on July 10 at 4:30 p.m. Check your local listings for the FS Wisconsin channel on your cable system. The ninth and 18th holes will be streamed live on 

LAST YEAR: Arrwowhead captured the Division 1 State title, shooting a four-player, 36-hole score of 611, seven strokes better than runner-up Holmen. Jordan Niebrugge of Homestead earned medalist honors with a 36-hole score of 136, which was the lowest score recorded since 2006. Edgerton won the Division 2 title with a four-player, 36-hole score of 620. Edgewood placed second with 625 strokes. Charlie Danielson of Osceola won a playoff for medalist honors with a score of 148. Cuba City captured the Division 3 title with a score of 659, 36 shots better than runner-up Osseo-Fairchild. Josh Smith of Southwestern fired a 155 to win medalist honors.

CHAMPIONSHIP NOTES: Madison West holds the record for the most team golf titles with 15. Osseo-Fairchild is next in line with eight, followed by Racine Park with seven. Madison West has also produced the most individual champions with nine. Arrowhead is the only school to have won four straight team titles (2007-10), and there are four other schools that have won three straight championships. Osseo-Fairchild did it in 1994-96; Racine did it in 1923-25; Madison West accomplished the feat in 1934-36 and 1960-62; and Middleton did it from 1997-99.

TEAMS COMPETING:  The schools qualifying for the State meet in Division 1 are Appleton East, Bay Port, Beloit Memorial, Brookfield Central, Cedarburg, Eau Claire North, Fort Atkinson, Greendale, Homestead, Kenosha Bradford, Neenah, Onalaska, Plymouth, Stevens Point, Stoughton and Waterford. Teams qualifying in Division 2 are Berlin, Catholic Memorial, Edgerton, Hayward, McFarland, Notre Dame, Osceola and Sheboygan Falls. Qualifying teams in Division 3 are Glenwood City, Iola-Scandinavia, Kohler, Lancaster, Osseo-Fairchild, Pardeeville, St. Mary’s Springs and Weyauwega-Fremont.

DIVISION 1 INDIVIDUAL QUALIFIERS: The individual qualifiers in Division 1 are senior Bryan Kendall of Brookfield East, junior Sawyer Weiss of Eau Claire Memorial, junior Phillip Johnson of Germantown, senior Nate Goecks of Hamilton, senior TJ Podner of Hartford Union, sophomore Tyler Church of Holmen, senior Jordan Gagg of Janesville Craig, sophomore John Milner of Janesville Parker, senior Devin Terry of La Crosse Central, sophomore Sasha Oosting of Manitowoc Lincoln, senior James Christian of Marquette, senior Brendan Paule of Menomonee Falls, junior Austin Elsner of New London, junior Kaylor Steger of Oak Creek, senior Wyatt Stickney and junior Logan Handy of Oshkosh West, junior Owen Nowicki of Pulaski, sophomore Eric Van Tubbergen of Racine Case, senior Joe Bodahl and junior Garrett Loomis of River Falls, senior RJ Budd of Sauk Prairie, senior Tyler Egnarski of Watertown, senior Mark LaMeer of Westosha Central and junior Joe Benbow of Wisconsin Rapids Lincoln.

DIVISION 2 INDIVIDUAL QUALIFIERS:   The individual qualifiers in Division 2 are junior Gabby Curtis of Altoona, freshman Luke Bourneuf of Big Foot, freshman Noah Price of Bloomer, junior Justin Fleury of East Troy, sophomore Adam Miller of Lodi, sophomore Justin Leeds of Pewaukee, junior Adam Gabbey of Racine St. Catherine’s, senior Michael Lueptow of Ripon, junior Graham Westley of River Valley, senior Jimmy Albright of Roncalli, Evan Lunda of Unity and freshman Chris Colla of Winnebago Lutheran. 

DIVISION 3 INDIVIDUAL QUALIFIERS: The Division 3 individual qualifiers are senior Kaiden Evans and junior Daniel Romero of Brookfield Academy, junior Tyler Mussehl of Bruce, junior Richard Geimer of Coleman, senior Alex Stewart of Cuba City, senior Jacob Rogness of Eleva-Strum, senior Derek Peat of Iowa-Grant, junior Michael Tenuta of Kenosha St. Joseph, freshman Thomas Longbella of McDonell Central and juniors Casey Boyle, and senior Michael Schmidt of St. Thomas Aquinas, and Josh Smith of Southwestern.

NEED THE QUALIFIERS/TEE TIMES?: All rosters, qualifiers and tee times are available on the boys golf page on the WIAA website at:

NEED RESULTS?: The quickest way to get the boys golf results of the regional, sectional and State Tournament  would be to access the boys golf results page on the WIAA website at:

Receive the updates of the Boys State Tournament on the WIAA State Tournament Twitter account @wiaawistate with the hashtag #wiaagolf.

Please login or register to post comments.

Theme picker