State Boys Golf Championships Preview

Boys Golf


Boys Golf News

State Boys Golf Championships Preview

Friday, June 11, 2021

State Boys Golf Championships Preview

THE MEET: The 95th Annual Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association Boys Golf Championships will be held Monday and Tuesday, June 14-15, at two courses in  Wisconsin Dells, Wis. The Division 1 championships will be held at at Wild Rock Golf Club and Divisions 2 and 3 will be conducted at Trappers Turn Golf Club. Competition will begin at 8:30 a.m. at both sites on each of the days. Tee time assignments for Sunday practice and for Monday's play are posted on the boys golf page of the WIAA website.

THE FORMAT:  The competition features 16 teams and 24 individual qualifiers in Division 1, and eight teams and 12 individuals in Divisions 2 and 3. Weather permitting, all competitors will play 36 holes, including 18 holes on each day. The lowest scores from the first day will have the later tee times Tuesday.

THE FIELD:  In Division 1, the field consists of the top two teams from each of the eight sectionals. In Divisions 2 and 3, the top two teams from each of the four sectionals qualify. The top three individuals, who are not members of a qualifying team in each sectional, also qualify for the meet.

LAST TIME:  The 2020 State Tournament was canceled in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic. Marquette won the Division 1 team championship for the second straight season in 2019 by shooting a four-player, 36-hole score of 594, which was 20 strokes better than runner-up Middleton at 613. Russell Dettmering of Merrill earned individual medalist honors with a 36-hole score of 137, which was 7-under-par. Edgewood won the Division 2 title for the third straight season in 2019, finishing with a four-player, weather-shortened 27-hole score of 464. Lakeland placed second, four strokes back at 467. Joe Forsting of Edgerton earned medalist honors by shooting a 108 for 27 holes. Roncalli won the Division 3 title by scoring a 493 on 27 holes, which was 11 shots better than runner-up Abundant Life Christian/Madison Country Day with 504. Drake Wilcox of Sheboygan Lutheran won the individual title with a score of 109 on the 27 holes.

CHAMPIONSHIP NOTES:  Madison West holds the record for the most team golf titles with 15. Osseo-Fairchild is next in line with nine, followed by Arrowhead with eight and Racine Park with seven. Madison West has also produced the most individual champions with nine. Arrowhead (2007-2010) and St. Mary’s Springs (2015-18) are the only programs to have won four straight team titles, and there are five other schools that have won three straight championships. Osseo-Fairchild accomplished the feat in 1994-96; Racine did it in 1923-25; Madison West won three straight titles twice, in 1934-36 and 1960-62; Middleton did it from 1997-99; and Edgewood did it most recently from 2017-19. Bill Heim of Green Bay Preble and Jeremy Lyons of Glenwood City are the only individuals to win medalist honors three times. Heim won from 1986-88 and Lyons from 1997-99.

TEAMS COMPETING:  The schools qualifying for the State meet in Division 1 are Arrowhead, Beloit Memorial, Brookfield Central, De Pere, Eau Claire Memorial, Homestead, Hudson, Kettle Moraine, Madison Memorial, Marquette, Middleton, Milton, Racine Case, Sheboygan North, Wauwatosa East/West and West De Pere. Teams qualifying in Division 2 are Black River Falls, Edgerton, Edgewood, Kettle Moraine Lutheran, Lakeland, Marinette, University School of Milwaukee and Xavier. Qualifying teams in Division 3 are Durand, Eleva-Strum, Fennimore, Kohler, Marathon, Mineral Point, Newman Catholic and Racine Lutheran.

DIVISION 1 INDIVIDUAL QUALIFIERS: The individual qualifiers in Division 1 are sophomore Rasmus Madsen of Appleton North,  senior Austin Georger of Appleton West, senior Luke Abram of Badger, senior Jack Corbett of Brookfield East, senior Nathan Theama of Cedarburg, junior Andy Ziemer of D.C. Everest, senior John Mirsberger of Franklin, junior Michael Addie of Hamilton, freshman Wyatt Marshall of Janesville Craig, senior Dylan Moore of Kenosha Indian Trail, freshman Aiden Cudney of Kimberly, senior Matt Paulson of Mukwonago, junior John Callahan of Neenah, senior Peter Iwanowski of St. Francis/Cudahy, seniors Addison Raimer and Tyson Miller of Slinger, senior Logan Pechinski of Stevens Point, sophomore Tyler Schick of Sun Prairie,  senior Hunter Neumann of Tomah, junior Simon Graham of Union Grove, senior Andrew Aune of Verona, senior Connor Nelson of Waukesha West, junior Max Brud of Waunakee and senior Carter Cygan of Wausau East.

DIVISION 2 INDIVIDUAL QUALIFIERS:  The individual qualifiers in Division 2 are freshman Ben Book of Brookfield Academy, junior Tyler Bradley of Dodgeville, senior Tyler Tsui of Grafton, junior Zach Smith of Luxemburg-Casco, sophomore Ben Biskupski of McDonell Catholic/Regis, senior Peter Gustafson of Monticello/Belleville, junior Trent Meyer of Northwestern, senior Jacob Hall of Osceola, sophomore Grant Bauman of Peshtigo, sophomore Andrew Kettle of Sheboygan Falls, junior Gabriel Fernandez of St. John’s Northwestern Academies and sophomore Grant Delsart of Wrightstown.

DIVISION 3 INDIVIDUAL QUALIFIERS: The Division 3 individual qualifiers are junior Sam Dobbins of Aquinas, sophomore Nick Buckman of Cambridge, sophomore Alex Rasmussen of Drummond, junior Jack West of Ladysmith, junior Noah Kirsch of Lancaster, senior Grant McGraw of Living Word Lutheran, junior Ross Anderson of Luck/Frederic, senior Peyton Schuelke of Manawa, junior Trey Oswald of Parkview, senior Teddy Schumacher of St. Mary’s Springs, freshman Kaden Bailey of St. Thomas Aquinas and senior Christian Johnson of Wisconsin Valley Lutheran.

NEED THE QUALIFIERS/TEE TIMES?: Qualifiers and tee times are available on the boys golf page on the WIAA website at:

NEED RESULTS?: The quickest way to get the boys golf results of the regional, sectional and State Tournament  would be to access the boys golf results page on the WIAA website at:

FOLLOW THE TOURNEY ON SOCIAL MEDIA: Receive the updates of the Boys State Golf Tournament on the WIAA State Tournament Twitter account @wiaawistate with the hashtag #wiaagolf.  Also like us on Facebook and follow us on Instagram at wiaawi.


Please login or register to post comments.

Theme picker