Arrowhead, University School of Milwaukee Win Girls Team Tennis Titles


Arrowhead, University School of Milwaukee Win Girls Team Tennis Titles

Friday, October 21, 2022

Arrowhead, University School of Milwaukee Win Girls Team Tennis Titles

MADISON, Wis. – Two teams captured championships at the 2022 State Girls Team Tennis Tournament at Nielsen Tennis Center Saturday.

Top-seeded Arrowhead (26-1) won the Division 1 team title with a 5-2 victory over second-seeded Middleton (172) in the championship match. Sarah Neubert and Mekenna Verhagen won their matches at the #2 and #4 singles positions, and all three doubles tandems posted wins to account for the Warhawks’ final score. Hannah Cady and Jane Berglin won at #1 doubles; Myla Brunner and Lily Liu were victorious in their #2 doubles match; and Lily Schulz and Jacquelyn Cox won at the #3 position.

The Warhawks win their second State team championship in their third tourney appearance. Their other team title came in 2014. They defeated Elkhorn 6-1 in the quarterfinals Friday and Cedarburg 6-1 in the semifinals earlier Saturday to advance to the final.

The Cardinals placed runner-up in their 10th tourney appearance. They defeated Hudson 6-1 in the quarterfinals and Divine Savior Holy Angels 5-2 in the semifinals to advance to the championship match.

In Division 2, top-seeded University School of Milwaukee (14-4) recorded a 6-1 win over second-seeded Xavier (14-4) in the title match to capture the crown. The Wildcats won all four singles matches, and two of the three doubles match-ups.

Angela Wang, who finished runner-up at last weekend’s individual championships, won her match at #1 singles, and Aubrey Jayne won at the #2 slot. Wynter Maitland was the winner at #3 singles, and Lindsey Gardner added a win at the #4 position. The duo of Isabel Werner and Mia Darr, who finished third last week in doubles play at the individual championships, won their match at #1 doubles. Haley Erlich and Ella McDonald topped their opponent at the #2 position.

University School of Milwaukee notches its 11th State team championship in the school’s 14th tournament appearance. The Wildcats defeated Edgewood 6-1 to advance to the final.

The Hawks are runners-up in their third trip to the State Team Tournament. They defeated Altoona 6-1 in the semifinals to earn their berth in the championship match.

Results Page Link


Theme picker