Lodi, Amherst, St. Mary's Springs & Bangor Win Football Titles



Thursday, November 16, 2017

Lodi, Amherst, St. Mary's Springs & Bangor Win Football Titles


Lodi (14-0) capped an undefeated season with a 17-10  overtime win over defending champion St. Croix Central in the Division 4 championship game Thursday at Camp Randall Stadium in Madison.

Ben Rashid ran in from the 1-yard line in overtime for the margin of victory. The Panthers overtime possession ended with a sack on a desperation 4-and-16 from the Lodi 35-yard line.

Lodi scored first to take a 7-0 lead midway through the first quarter on a Jacob Heyroth 6-yard run after the Blue Devils recovered a fumble on the Panthers’ 21-yard line. St. Croix Central tied the game in the second quarter on an 8-yard jaunt into the end zone by Collin Nelson.

The Panthers took the lead on a 28-yard field goal by Derek Myer with 8:23 left in the third quarter, but Savannah Curtis tied the game with 8:30 remaining in the fourth quarter on a 30-yard field goal. Both teams had an opportunity to take the lead down the stretch, but the field goal attempts missed the mark.

Heyroth rushed for a game-high 151 yards and a score. Cameron McDonald attempted just five passes in the game, completing two for 17 yards. Ryan Brewer led a staunch Lodi defense with 13 tackles, and Max Barreau added 10 stops that included three tackles for loss.

Ryan Larson provided much of the offense for the Panthers, rushing for 147 yards and catching a pass for 15 yards. Nelson chipped in with 73 yards on the ground and a touchdown. In addition, Nelson completed 2-of-6 passes for 25 yards. Larson, Alec Fischer and Austin Kopacz each had seven tackles to lead the team on defense.

Lodi wins its first State championship in its second appearance in the final. St. Croix Central (12-2) finishes runner-up in its third State final appearance.

Complete Statistics


Amherst (13-1) rode the record-breaking efforts of Marcus Glodowski to win its third consecutive State championship with a 28-21 triumph over Lake Country Lutheran in the Division 5 championship game Thursday at Camp Randall Stadium in Madison.

Glodowski rushed for 269 yards to set a Division 5 record in the title game. He also tied the Division 5 mark for the most rushing touchdowns in a game with four.

He began the scoring with a 1-yard at the 8:50 mark of the first quarter to give the Falcons a 7-0 lead. The Lightning tied the game at 7-7 in the second quarter with a 15-yard pass from Ethan Wilkins to Michael Schumacher, which was set up by a 69-yard pass completion from Wilkens to Dane Vance.

Amherst regained the lead less than four minutes later on a 27-yard Glodowski run. The Lighting knotted the score at 14-14 on a Vance 3-yard rush. 

Lake Country Lutheran (13-1) took its only lead of the game at 21-14 at the 7:49 mark of the third quarter on a 12-yard touchdown reception by Wilkins from Schumacher. The Falcons responded on the ensuing drive capped by a 3-yard run by Glodowski to tie the game at 21-21. The winning touchdown came with just under seven minutes to play in the game on a 5-yard run by Glodowski.

Josh Rieck contributed to the Amherst rushing attack with 119 yards on the ground. Through the air, Glodowski completed 3-of-8 passes for 49 yards. Two of his completions were to Carter Zblewski for 41 yards. Thomas Andersen led the Falcons defense with 10 tackles, a Glodowski made a game-clinching interception late in the fourth quarter.

Vance led the Lightning in rushing and receiving. He carried the ball 16 times for 67 yards and a touchdown, and he caught five passes for 89 yards. Wilkens tossed the ball for 199 yards and a pair of touchdowns, completing 16-of-26 attempts. Isaac Simon made a game-high 12 tackles to lead the Lightning defense.

With the victory, Amherst claims the title for the fourth time in five appearances in the final and becomes the seventh school to win at least three consecutive championships. The Lightning finishes runner-up in its first State finals appearance.

Complete Statistics


St. Mary’s Springs (14-0) won its seventh championship with a 35-12 victory over Iola-Scandinavia in the Division 6 championship game Thursday at Camp Randall Stadium in Madison.

The T-Birds broke into the scoring column first with a 1-yard plunge by Bryce Huettner. The two-point, point-after failed. The Ledgers took the lead at 7-6 on a 39-yard scoring pass from Mitch Waechter to Cade Christensen. Iola-Scandinavia answered with a 7-yard scoring romp by Huettner to take a 12-7 lead, but the Waechter to Christensen combination struck again with two seconds remaining in the first half on a 7-yard pass play

All the scoring in the second half was done by the Ledgers. Waechter ran in from five yards out for a 21-12 Ledgers lead, and Clay Schueffner added a 5-yard scoring run of his own in the final moments of the third quarter. The final scoring play of the game featured the combo of Waechter and Christensen. On a trick play, Christensen passed back to Waechter, who raced in from 38 yards to complete the scoring.

Christensen caught three passes for a game-high 78 yards and a pair of scores, and Schueffner rushed for a team-high 88 yards and a touchdown. Marcus Orlandoni added 77 yards on the ground and Waechter picked up 60 and a touchdown. Waechter completed 8-of-12 passes for 142 yard and a pair of touchdowns. Schueffner led the defense with 14 tackles.

Huettner was stellar in defeat for the T-Birds. He rushed for a game-high 213 yards and two touchdowns. Connor Kurki connected on 2-of-6 passes for 33 yards. Ben and Will Cady accounted for the team’s two receptions. Ben Cady and Alex Sharp led the T-Birds’ defense with 14 and 13 tackles, respectively.

The Ledgers’ seventh title ties them for the most of any member school with Edgar, Lancaster and Stratford. Iola-Scandinavia finishes runner-up for the third time in its third appearance in the State title game.

Complete Statistics


Bangor (14-0) won its second championship in the past three seasons with a 37-14 win over previously undefeated Black Hawk in the Division 7 championship game Thursday at Camp Randall Stadium in Madison.

The Cardinals couldn’t have scripted the start of the game any better. On their first offensive series, Luke Reader scored on a 57-yard run, and Carter Horstman raced 52 yards on their next possession to take an 16-0 lead midway through the first quarter.

Black Hawk got on the scoreboard on a 1-yard run by Michael Flanagan and cut the Bangor lead before halftime at 16-8. 

After a scoreless second quarter, the Warriors cut their deficit to 16-14 with nine minutes remaining in the third quarter on a Brody Milz 1-yard run. 

The rest of the game was all Cardinals. Horstman added scoring runs of 16 yards and 15 yards, and Reader capped the scoring with a 9-yard scoring scamper with 5:35 remaining in the game.

Reader rushed for a game-high 185 yards and two touchdowns for the Cardinals, and Horstman added 144 yards and three touchdowns to fuel the potent rushing attack that amassed 423 yards in the game. Drew Johnson completed 3-of-5 passes for 65 yards, and Caleb Miedema caught two pass for 55 yards to lead the passing attack. Defensively, Horstman made a team-high 17 tackles, and Miedema and Johnson each had an interception.

Black Hawk (13-1)  were led offensively and defensively by Brody Milz. He rushed for 117 yards and a touchdown and caught three passes for 23 yards. He also led all tacklers with 20 stops, which tied the Division 7 record for a game. Michael Flanagan connected on 11 of his 20 passes for 104 yards. Rece Shelton contributed defensively with 12 tackles.

The two teams combined to set a Division 7 State championship game record for rushing with 601 yards in the game. 

The Warriors finish runner-up for the third time in their three championship game appearances.

Complete Statistics


Theme picker