Fall Sportsmanship Award Winners Selected



Monday, December 16, 2013

Fall Sportsmanship Award Winners Selected

STEVENS POINT, Wis. -- The Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association, in cooperation with Rural Mutual Insurance Company,  has selected the team Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2013 Fall State Championships.

The winners of the State Team Tournament Sportsmanship Awards are Brookfield East in boys volleyball, Ashland in boys soccer, Oshkosh North in football, Middleton in girls team tennis and Hilbert in girls volleyball.

Brookfield East earned its first sportsmanship recognition in any sport with its positive spirit at the boys volleyball tournament. The Spartans advanced to the State semifinals in their second State appearance. They swept Kaukauna in the quarterfinals and took eventual champion Marquette to the brink of defeat before succumbing in five sets in the semifinals. Honorable mention for the award went to Kaukauna, Middleton and Westosha Central.

Ashland is the recipient of the Sportsmanship Award in boys soccer for the first time and for the fourth time since the award’s inception.  The Oredockers were the award’s recipient in summer baseball in 2005 and in girls soccer in 2009 and again last spring. They won the school’s first State boys soccer title by blanking Notre Dame 1-0 in the Division 3 final this fall. They advanced to the final with a 3-0 victory over McFarland in the State semifinal. Barron, Green Bay Preble, Madison West, Marshfield, Pewaukee and Sturgeon Bay received honorable mention for the award. 

Oshkosh North was selected for its sportsmanship at the State football finals. It is the first time the school has been selected for the award in any sport. The Spartans advanced to the State final in Division 2 and fell 51-10 to Kimberly in the title game played at Camp Randall Stadium in Madison. Receiving honorable mention were Black Hawk, Darlington, Glenwood City, Platteville and Winneconne.    

Middleton is the recipient of the Sportsmanship Award in girls team tennis, which marks the first time the Cardinals have received the award in girls tennis and the fourth time the school and community have been honored overall.  The Cardinals were also selected for the award in boys tennis in 2007 and 2009, as well as in boys volleyball in 2009. They won their first State Girls Team Tennis Championship in school history by defeating Eau Claire Memorial 5-2 in the Division 1 title at the Nielsen Tennis Stadium in Madison in October. Regis received honorable mention for the award.        

A large contingent from the Hilbert community displayed positive spirit to earn the school’s first Sportsmanship Award in girls volleyball and its second award overall, having also received the recognition in girls basketball in 2000. The Wolves fell in three sets to eventual champion Newman Catholic in the State semifinals. Receiving honorable mention for the award are Brodhead, North Crawford, Sun Prairie and Wausau East.

The WIAA/Rural Insurance Sportsmanship Award is presented to one school program and community–or communities in the case of cooperative programs–in each of the State team tournaments that exemplifies outstanding sportsmanship. Award winners are determined by the conduct and sportsmanship displayed by athletes, coaches, cheer and support groups, mascots, bands and spectators. Additional consideration is given for the effort of school administrators and chaperones to insure support for their teams are positive and that the highest ideals of sportsmanship are upheld. 

Award winners receive a trophy and banner in recognition of the honor. Schools receiving honorable mention are acknowledged with a certificate of recognition. The selection process includes contributions and evaluations from contest officials, tournament management, police and security personnel, crowd control and ushers, WIAA staff members, and area hotels and restaurants on occasion. 

# WIAA # 


Theme picker