Appleton North, McFarland Win Alternate Season State Boys Soccer Crowns


Appleton North, McFarland Win Alternate Season State Boys Soccer Crowns

Saturday, May 15, 2021

Appleton North, McFarland Win Alternate Season State Boys Soccer Crowns

STEVENS POINT, Wis. – The alternate season State Boys Soccer Tournament produced a pair of champions Saturday.

Top-seeded Appleton North (14-0-1) won the Division 1 championship with a 1-0 shutout over De Pere (12-1-3) in the tournament final played at Doc Mitchell Athletic Complex in Kewaskum, Wis.

Simon Zulewski scored what proved to be the only goal of the game at the 14:25 mark of the first half. He kicked a rebound shot inside the right post for the unassisted goal. The Lightning outshot the Redbirds 19-7 in the game, including a 7-5 edge in shots on goal. Nick Milani led the team with seven shots, and Brady Frantal added four shots. Dave Neitzke-Pizzaro was credited with the win in goal with five saves for the Lightning.

Kevin Ramirez and Charlie Eggers paced the De Pere offensive attack with a pair of shots apiece. Jack Rosner allowed just the one goal with six saves in goal for the Redbirds.

Appleton North wins its first title in its second State Tournament appearance, and De Pere places runner-up in its eighth State appearance, with the seven previous experiences coming during the traditional fall season. The Lightning cruised into the title game with a 7-0 triumph over Racine Horlick in the semifinals earlier in the day, and De Pere eliminated Waunakee in their semifinal match-up with a 1-0 shutout.

Top-seeded McFarland (13-0-1) cruised to the Division 2 alternate season State title with a convincing 6-1 win over Notre Dame (14-4-2)  in the championship game held at Smith Field on the campus of Marian University in Fond du Lac, Wis.

Keegan Bell began the scoring for the Spartans with a goal assisted by Jake Sampson at the 5:04 mark of the first period. Bubba Blair converted on the header for McFarland’s second score off an assist from Zach Nichols at 29:38. Nichols added his second assist of the game that led to a Riley Turner goal with 1:17 remaining in the first half, which gave the Spartans a 3-0 lead at the intermission.

In the second half, Kyle Connor expanded the McFarland lead to 4-0 at 53:12 off a rebound of a Bell shot, who was credited with the assist. Notre Dame narrowed its deficit to 4-1 at the 64:46 mark in the second half with an unassisted goal on a free kick by Sam Limoni.

Nichols headed in a corner kick by Bell to extend the Spartans’ lead back to four goals a 5-1 at the 70.07 mark of the second period, and Ben Hoang capped the scoring with an assist from Blair at 86:56.

The Spartans outshot the Tritons 13-12 in the game, including a 9-6 advantage in shots on goal. Nichols led the Spartans with four shots, and Notre Dame was led in shots by Limoni, who also recorded four attempts.

Matt Schutt earned the victory in goal for the Spartans, making five saves before Jacob Brendenmuehl entered the game in relief of Schutt with 8:11 remaining in the game. Omar Cendejas-Maldonado made three saves in goal for the Tritons.

McFarland wins its first boys soccer championship in its fourth State appearance. The three previous experiences came during the traditional fall season. Notre Dame finishes runner-up in its ninth State experience. The Spartans blanked Fort Atkinson 3-0 in the semifinals to gain their berth in the championship game, and the Tritons edged Shorewood 1-0 in overtime in their semifinal.

Division 1 Chanpionship Game Boxscore
Division 2 Chanpionship Game Boxscore


Theme picker