Pewaukee Wins Boys & Girls Div. 2 State Cross Country Titles



Saturday, October 31, 2015

Pewaukee Wins Boys & Girls Div. 2 State Cross Country Titles

Competitors in the 2015 State Cross Country Championships endured a persistent rain to determine six champions at the The Ridges Golf Course in Wisconsin Rapids, Wis., Saturday.

Defending champion Eau Claire Memorial won its second straight Division 1 girls team title with a five-runner score of 117. Arrowhead finished second with team total of 169, and Appleton North was third with 174. Senior Aubrey Roberts of Eau Claire Memorial was the individual champion after running to a runner-up finish a year ago and a sixth-place result in 2013. She covered the 5-kilometer course in 17:49.98. Junior Cami Davre of Whitefish Bay was a distant second with a time of 18:28.14. She placed fourth last year and third in 2013.

Pewaukee ran to its fifth team title in Division 2 with a score of 112. Shorewood finished second with a score of 138, and Luxemburg-Casco was third, also with 138. Ties are broken by the highest sixth-place finisher of the tying teams. Senior Alicia Monson of Amery, who was third last year, was the individual champion with a time of 18:28.96. Freshman Dana Feyen was runner-up with a time of 19:00.09.

Lourdes Academy claimed the Division 3 team championship for the third straight season and for fifth time in the last six seasons. Its team total of 98 was seven points fewer than runner-up Westby. Colfax was third with a score of 127. Senior Alissa Niggemann of Amherst followed up an eighth-place standing last season and a 10-place finish in 2013 with a title this year. She completed the course in a time of 19:00.40. Sophomore Elena Schmidt of Westby jumped to second this year with a time of 19:01.25 after a seventh-place finish in 2014.

The Division 1 boys team crown belongs to Kimberly, finishing with a score of 80. Madison La Follette placed second with a score of 99, and West Bend West was third at 114. Finn Gessner of Madison La Follette won individual honors with a time of 15:44.60 on the 5-kilometer course after placing fifth last season. His closest challenger was Alec Basten of Green Bay Southwest with a time of 15:55.33.

Pewaukee made it a sweep in Division 2 after the girls team won the title earlier in the day. The Pirates finished with a score of 85. Wisconsin Lutheran was runner-up with 102 points, and Notre Dame placed third with a score of 106. Senior Daniel Pederson of Spooner ran to the title with a time of 16:07.23 after racing to seventh a year ago. Luke Sampson of Little Chute completed the course in 16:09.92 to finish second.

Darlington won its fifth straight State Division 3 team championship and its seventh title overall with a score of 49, well ahead of runner-up Boscobel with 106 points. Chequamegon was third with a score of 123, paced by senior Kevin Koski, who won his second consecutive individual championship with a time of 16:02.59. Senior Dakota Kauffmann of Boscobel placed second for the second straight season following a fifth-place finish in 2013 with a time of 16:27.14.

Pewaukee is the first school to win both the boys and girls titles since Arrowhead won the boys and girls Division 1 championships in 2011. Complete Results


Theme picker