Boys Hockey - History

Boys Hockey History

The WIAA began sponsoring a tournament program in boys hockey in 1971. Superior won the first championship, defeating Madison West, 7-3, in the championship game.

The first State Tournament was held at the Dane County Coliseum in Madison. The tournament has been conducted in Madison every year except in 1974 and 1975 when it was held in Green Bay. The Hartmeyer facility in Madison has been the site of some of the State Tournaments, but the Coliseum has been used exclusively since 1980.

Superior leads in most State championships won with 13. Madison Memorial has won eight, and Hudson and Madison East have both won four titles.

Eighteen different schools have won State championships. Superior is the only program to win three consecutive State titles (1994-96). Superior, Madison Memorial and Hudson are the only programs to win back-to-back titles. Superior has done it twice including its string of three championships (1981-82) and Madison Memorial has accomplished this feat twice (1976-77, 1979-80). Hudson's back-to-back titles have come in 2017 and 2018.

Superior leads in State Tournament appearances with 37. Madison Memorial is next with 30. Eau Claire Memorial and Northland Pines are third on the list of appearances with 18, and Stevens Point and Wausau West have been to State 17 times. Madison East is next with 14, Fond du Lac 13, and both Madison West and University School of Milwaukee with 12.

Prior to official WIAA involvement in hockey, the Madison schools conducted an invitational from 1964 to 1970 (except for 1966). Eagle River (now Northland Pines) won the first championship, Madison East won the next three, and Superior won the last two.

Facebook    Twitter    YouTube    RSS

Wisconsin Interscholastic
Athletic Association
5516 Vern Holmes Drive
Stevens Point, WI 54482-8833
Phone (715) 344-8580
Fax (715) 344-4241
Mon-Fri: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM