Boys Cross Country - History

Boys Cross Country History

The WIAA goes back to 1913 to determine its first boys cross country tournament champion. Milwaukee Riverside was the first team champion.

Milwaukee Normal School (now University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee) conducted the first State meet and the next 22. The meet has been staged in 13 different locations, including Milwaukee (four different sites), Madison, South Milwaukee, Whitefish Bay, Hartford, Kettle Moraine, Wausau, Kenosha, Wisconsin Dells and presently Wisconsin Rapids, where it has been since 1988.

There was one class of competition until 1933, when for one year it changed to two divisions. The format reverted back in 1934 because of insufficient school participation until 1949 when it returned to two classes. It became three classes in 1956 and has remained at three except in 1968, 1969 and 1970 when it was two classes. Terminology was changed to Divisions 1-2-3 instead of Classes A-B-C in 1990.

Milwaukee Riverside not only won the first championship, but also the next seven, as well as six more from 1923 to 1928. Darlington also won six straight championships, capturing Division 3 titles from 2011-16. 

Riverside has won the most championships with 16, and all of them were won between 1913 and 1936. South Milwaukee and Stevens Point are next with 10 titles; Darlington, Madison West and Shorewood have won eight; Fennimore has seven team titles; Albany and Milwaukee Bay View have six; and Cochrane-Fountain City, Milwaukee Washington, Port Washington and Whitefish Bay have five. Milwaukee Washington also has been runner-up 11 times.

Only six boys have won three individual championships. They are Jim Brice of Wrightstown (1975-77), Paul Voss of Clinton (1977-79), Phil Downs of Madison Memorial (1989-91), Chris Solinsky of Stevens Point (2000-02), Tyson Miehe of Darlington (2011-13) and most recently Dave Vannucchi of Luther (2016-18). There have been an additional 32 boys in Wisconsin who have won two individual titles.

Milwaukee Riverside has produced the most individual champions with 10, followed by South Milwaukee with eight. Stevens Point has produced six champions, and Madison West and Menomonee Falls North have produced five. Boscobel, Madison Memorial, Milwaukee South and McFarland have claimed four individual championships. Individual titles have been won by runners from 112 different schools.

Facebook    Twitter    YouTube    RSS

Wisconsin Interscholastic
Athletic Association
5516 Vern Holmes Drive
Stevens Point, WI 54482-8833
Phone (715) 344-8580
Fax (715) 344-4241
Mon-Fri: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM