Baseball - Spring - Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association



News Releases

Arrowhead, Burlington Advance to Div. 1 State Baseball Final

Arrowhead 2, Kimberly 1

Arrowhead advanced to the championship final with a 2-1 win over Kimberly in the Division 1 semifinals Tuesday evening at Neuroscience Group Field in Grand Chute.

The game remained scoreless until the third inning when Arrowhead plated a run on a two-out RBI single by Jeff Holtz to score Dominic Clementi, who had tripled. The Warhawks led 2-0 in the fifth inning when Holtz drove in his second run of the game on a single to left field.

Kimberly’s only run of the game came in the sixth inning. Drew Johnson singled to right to score Ben Carew, who was hit by a pitch earlier in the inning and advanced to second on an errant pick-off attempt. 

The Papermakers had the tying run at second base and the go-ahead run at first in the seventh inning, but couldn’t come up with a game-tying score.

Holtz and Tanner Williams had two of the Warhawks’ eight hits. Nathan Brown was masterful on the mound for Arrowhead to record the complete game victory. He gave up six hits and one unearned run  and struck out 10.

Johnson collected a pair of hits and drove in the only run for the Papermakers, which had six hits in the game. Danny Vandenboom was charged with the loss. He gave up two runs and eight hits with three strikeouts  

Burlington 9, Green Bay Preble 0

Burlington (24-5) will appear in the final for the first time following a 9-0 shut out over Green Bay Preble (24-6) in the Division 1 semifinals Tuesday evening.

Four Demons’ hurlers limited the Hornets to just three hits.
The Demons jumped out in front in the top of the first inning with three runs. Dale Damon and Aaron Sturdevant both singled in runs, and Cal Tully drove in the final run of the inning on a fielder’s choice.

Burlington took control of the game with six runs on seven hits in the fifth inning. Damon smacked a double to left to drive in a run, and Sturdevant drove in two more runs with a single. After a pitching change, Cal Tully tripled to right center to score Sturdevant. He was driven in with a single off the bat of Tanner Strommen. Tully later scored on a single by Bryan Sturdevant, which was his second hit of the inning.

Aaron Mutter started on the mound for the Demons and allowed one hit in four innings. Zach Campbell was credited with the victory in relief with a scoreless fifth inning. Tully and Bryan Sturdevant each worked a scoreless inning to complete the shutout.

Bryan Sturdevant went 3-for-4 with two

State Spring Baseball Tournament Preview

The 69th Annual Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association Spring Baseball State Tournament will take place Tuesday-Thursday, June 14-16, at Neuroscience Group Field at Fox Cities Stadium in Grand Chute, Wis. Ticket prices for the tourney are $8 per session and $14 for an all-day admission ticket. Tickets are available at the stadium.

Softball, Spring Baseball Tournament Series Brackets Posted

The 2016 Softball and Spring Baseball Tournament Series Brackets have been posted on the WIAA website. To access the softball brackets, click on the link below. Use the links at the top of the bracket to view the other divisions and sectionals.

To access the spring baseball brackets, click on the link below. Use the links at the top of the bracket to view the other divisions and sectionals.

The State Softball Tournament will be held at Goodman Diamond in Madison on June 9-11. The State Spring Baseball Tournament is scheduled for June 14-16 at Neuroscience Group Field at Fox Cities Stadium in Grand Chute.

2016 NFHS Baseball and Softball Rule Changes

Rules changes for the 2016 baseball and softball seasons were made at rules committee meetings last month in Indianapolis. Those changes were subsequently approved by the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) Board of Directors.

Four State Baseball Champions Crowned

The final day of the 2015 State Spring Baseball Tournament determined champions in four divisions Thursday at Neuroscience Group Field in Grand Chute, Wis.

A two-run single by McCauley Cox in the fifth inning propelled Janesville Craig (29-1) to the Division 1 title with a 2-0 victory over Kimberly (26-5) in the championship final.

The Cougars made the two runs stand up with a combined shut out by starter Nick Cramer and Nick Blomgren in relief. Cramer scattered four hits over five innings of work and is credited with the victory. Blomgren pitched the final two innings to record the save.

JT Smithback collected two of the Cougars’ five hits. Ben Carew went 3-for-3 with a double, and Zach Carney added a pair of hits for the Papermakers.  Cougars’ pitching allowed only one Kimberly base-runner to reach third base, and that came in the fifth inning when the Papermakers stranded runners on second and third.

It is Janesville Craig’s fourth State title. The Cougars won Class A championships in 1983 and 1984, and a Division 1 title in 1998. Kimberly has finished runner-up for the fifth time and for the second straight season.

There were anxious moments in the final inning, but Milwaukee Lutheran (19-13) won the Division 2 championship with a 4-3 win over Notre Dame in the title game.

With one out in the top of the seventh, Notre Dame had a runner reach base with a passed ball following third strike. After a stolen base put the runner in scoring position, James Wright struck out the next batter, walked the following hitter and closed out the inning with a strikeout to preserve the victory.

The Red Knights scored first with a single run in the first inning on a successful squeeze bunt by Sam Ruch to score Nick Winter from third. They added a run in the second inning on an infield single by Christian Gerner.

The Tritons tied the game in the third inning when Connor Yakel singled in a pair of runs with two outs. However, the Red Knights answered with two runs of their own in the bottom half of the inning to close out the scoring in the game. TD Walker drove in the first run of the inning with a single to shortstop, and Ryan Selner delivered a  base hit to center field to drive in the final run of the game.

Gerner and Winter each had two hits to pace the Red Knights seven-hit attack. The Tritons were held to four hits behind the combination of starter TD Walker and reliever James Wright. Walker struck out seven in five innings to post the win. Wright pitched two innings without surrendering a hit to pick up the save.

It was the third State title for Milwaukee Lutheran, which also won titles in 2002 and 2003.

Lake Country Lutheran (28-2) followed last year’s Division 4 championship with a Division 3 title this season after a dramatic 5-4 walk-off victory over Aquinas (27-4) in the final.

The Lightning scored first with a run in the bottom of the second inning on a run-scoring double by Jack Euclide, but the Blugolds responded with a run in the third to tie the game at 1-1. Alex Dee belted a double to drive in Rudy Rott, who walked earlier in the inning.

Lake Country Lutheran regained the lead in the bottom half of the inning on a fielder’s choice that scored Andrew Buran who had walked with one out.

The real fireworks and drama didn’t begin until the seventh inning. Aquinas scored three runs to grab a 4-2 lead. Alex Schulte singled in a run, another scored on a fielding error and one on a sacrifice fly by Jacob Horstman.

Then Lightning struck. After a ground out to start the bottom of the seventh, Lake Country Lutheran cracked four straight sin


Theme picker