Softball - History

Softball History

The WIAA began sponsoring a softball tournament program in 1976.
The first State Tournament was held in Madison, and Madison West won the championship by defeating Elmwood, 27-8, in the title contest.
Waukesha became the site of the State Tournament in 1977, and the tournament was held in that location the next 25 years. The championship moved back to Madison and has been held at UW's Goodman Diamond since 2002.
There was only one class of competition in the first three years of the tournament, but there was an A and B division in both 1979 and 1980, and the C division was added in 1981. Terminology was changed in 1991 from classes to divisions (1-2-3). In 2002, the tournament series expanded to four divisions.

Stevens Point leads all programs in State titles won with eight. Kimberly and Marion have won six, while Denmark has won five championships. Four of Stevens Point's eight titles came consecutively from 2001-04 to have the distinction of being the only school to accomplish that feat. Ashwaubenon has won four titles, and Loyal, Oakfield and Poynette have won three titles. Schools that have won three consecutive championships in addition to Stevens Point are Ashwaubenon (1992-94), Loyal (1978-80) and Marion (1990-92).

Ashwaubenon leads in number of trips to the State Tournament with 16. Then comes Stevens Point with 15, and Kimberly and Homestead with 12, and then Verona with 10. Cedarburg, Chippewa Falls, Elmwood, Loyal and Oakfield have each made nine appearances; and Appleton East, Madison La Follette, Marion, Oak Creek and Wilmot have made eight. Hamilton, Hurley, Madison Memorial, Monroe, Oshkosh West, Poynette, Seneca, South Milwaukee and Watertown have made seven appearances; and Altoona, Arrowhead, Denmark, Grantsburg, Horicon, Marshall, Menomonie, Milwaukee Bay View, Oak Creek and Westosha Central each have six.

Facebook    Twitter    YouTube    RSS

Wisconsin Interscholastic
Athletic Association
5516 Vern Holmes Drive
Stevens Point, WI 54482-8833
Phone (715) 344-8580
Fax (715) 344-4241
Mon-Fri: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM