Forfeit Eligibility

Boys Wrestling


Wrestling News

Tuesday, October 2, 2012

Forfeit Eligibility

Q.: I recently had a match where a team was going to forfeit. The second team's coach pulled a wrestler who had weighed in and not wrestled (JV or varsity) from the stands in street clothes. Told him to change into his uniform and get the forfeit. I told him that as long as he was weighed in and on the roster, he could report in his uniform for the forfeit. Is that correct? Do wrestlers have to remain in the bench area during a dual? 

A.: You are correct. As long as he weighed in and is weight eligible for that weight class, there is no rule that prevents this from taking place. As you indicated he must be in full uniform to accept the forfeit - there is no rule that says they have to remain on the bench or the mat area during the dual. 


Theme picker