Girls Volleyball - History

Girls Volleyball History

The WIAA began sponsoring a tournament series in girls volleyball in 1973. Shawano won the first state team championship with West Allis Hale finishing runner-up.

The first two State Tournaments were held at Neenah. The tournament was then moved to the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh Kolf Fieldhouse from 1975 to 1993 before returning to Neenah in 1994. In 2002, the State Tournament moved to its current home, the Resch Center in Green Bay.

The tournament series followed the three division A-B-C format, except for the first year in 1973 when there was only one class. Terminology was changed from classes to divisions in 1990 when the tournament format changed to four divisions of competition.

Waupun leads all schools with 11 state titles. Abbotsford is next in line with seven, and Catholic Memorial, Wauwatosa East and West Bend East are next with six State championships. Catholic Central, Kettle Moraine Lutheran and Westosha Central have won five titles, and Waunakee and West Allis Hale have won four titles. Cambridge, Cuba City, Divine Savior Holy Angels, Dodgeville, Iowa-Grant, Oostburg, Newman Catholic, Platteville, Turtle Lake and Williams Bay are next with three.

Westosha Central has appeared in the most State Tournaments with 19. West Bend East is next with 17, followed by Waupun and Wauwatosa East with 16. Muskego has appeared in 14 tournaments with Grantsburg and Neenah qualifying 13 times. Abbotsford and Watertown are next with 12. Cuba City and West Allis Hale have played in 11 State Tournaments with Kimberly and Menomonee Falls qualifying 10 times. 

Waupun is the only program to win five straight championships (2001-05). Waupun has also won three consecutive championships (1995-97), which has been done only eight other times. Abbotsford accomplished the feat twice (1981-83, 1997-99). Turtle Lake won three consecutive championships from 1993-95; Kettle Moraine Lutheran accomplished the feat from 2002-04; Williams Bay won three straight from 2003-05; Catholic Central captured crowns from 2006-08; Catholic Memorial has won three straight from 2009-11; and Newman Catholic captured the Division 4 title from 2013-15.

Facebook    Twitter    YouTube    RSS

Wisconsin Interscholastic
Athletic Association
5516 Vern Holmes Drive
Stevens Point, WI 54482-8833
Phone (715) 344-8580
Fax (715) 344-4241
Mon-Fri: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM