Wrestling - History

Wrestling History

The WIAA goes back to 1940 to determine the beginning of its wrestling tournament program.

Milwaukee Washington won the first State Meet that was held at Appleton. The next year the tournament was held at West Milwaukee before moving to Neenah for 1942. Then, because of World War II, there were no more State Meets until 1947 when it was held at West Milwaukee. Racine Park hosted the 1948 meet.

The State Tournament moved to the UW Field House in 1949 and was held at that site through 1997. In 1998, the State Individual Tournament moved to the Kohl Center in Madison. The tournament followed the open class format through the years until 1980 when team champions were determined by A-B-C classes. Individual champions continued being determined by an open class through 1979 and thereafter on a three-class basis. Classes were renamed divisions beginning in 1991.

Until 1991-92, team championships were decided on the basis of a point system for individuals finishing first, second, etc., at the State (Individual) Tournament. Beginning in 1991-92, the team champion was determined in a separate team tournament series involving dual meets among the regional champions. The first two such State Team Tournaments were held at UW-Stevens Point. In 1994, the team tournament moved to West Allis Central High School where it remained through 2004 when it then moved to the UW Field House in Madison in 2005.

Wisconsin Rapids Lincoln has appeared in the State Team Tournament 18 times since its inception, the most of any member school. Ellsworth has appeared in 17, and Kaukauna and Luxemburg-Casco have 16 team tournament appearances. Lodi is next with 15, and then Coleman with 13.

There have been 54 different programs that have won State team championships. Wisconsin Rapids has the most titles with 21. Luxemburg-Casco has won 12 championships, Mineral Point has 11, and Coleman has won 10. Stoughton is next on the list with nine, and then Ellsworth with eight, and Milwaukee South has won seven team titles. Athens has won the team championship six times.

Wisconsin Rapids Lincoln won seven consecutive titles from 1995 through 2001. Five of Milwaukee South's titles came in succession from 1950-54. Wisconsin Rapids Lincoln has also strung together five straight titles from 2003-07, as well as four straight from 2009-2012. Four of Mineral Point's titles came in succession from 1980-83, as was Kaukauna's from 2014-17. Winning three times in a row were Milwaukee Washington (1940-42), Coleman (1962-64 and 2010-12), Stoughton (1975-77), East Troy (1986-88), Athens (1993-95), Luxemburg Casco (2001-03) and Mineral Point (2007-09).

Matt Hanutke of Pittsville, Kraig Underwood of Athens, Brian Slater of New Lisbon, Scott Hady of North Crawford, Kevin Black of River Falls, Josh Miller of Arcadia, Cole Wunnicke of Ithaca, Bobby Wunnicke of Dodgeville, Zac Cibula of Luxemburg-Casco, Nick Hagar of Tomahawk, Jesse Thielke of Germantown, Jarod Donar of Cuba City/Southwestern, Jens Lantz of Ellsworth, Hunter Marko of Amery, Jeremy Schoenherr of Stratford, Sam Stuhl of Prescott and Ellsworth, and Brock Schlough of Boyceville are the only 17 wrestlers that have won four State individual titles.
Sixty-seven other wrestlers have won three individual championships.

Stoughton has produced the most individual State titles with 51. Mineral Point has produced 50 individual champions, and Wisconsin Rapids Lincoln has produced 44, while 40 championships have been claimed by Luxemburg-Casco and Milwaukee South, and 37 individual crowns are possessed Coleman.

Facebook    Twitter    YouTube    RSS

Wisconsin Interscholastic
Athletic Association
5516 Vern Holmes Drive
Stevens Point, WI 54482-8833
Phone (715) 344-8580
Fax (715) 344-4241
Mon-Fri: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM