Menu

Boys Wrestling

Text

Wrestling News

Friday, December 20, 2019

Shoelaces

Q – What is the call when the defensive man is in a NF situation and the official notices that one of the shoelaces of either wrestler is un-tied?

A – This would be a delayed call. Once the situation is complete, the match will be stopped and the stalling call would be assessed.  If the defensive wrestler was pinned, the pin would prevail and the match would be over. This is an unintended consequence as a result of the new shoelace rule. Likewise, if a takedown, reversal or escape was in progress, the action would continue, points awarded, and the match would be stopped when there is insignificant action to penalize the appropriate wrestler for stalling due to the shoelaces. I think this is common sense officiating.

Print

Theme picker